We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant!! Great Service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gigi's Cafe

Gigi's Cafe
3585 NE 207th Street, Aventura, FL 33180
(305) 466-4648
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 92 Restaurants in Aventura
Cuisines: Kosher
Restaurant details
Aventura, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!! Great Service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I am writing in reference to the review below by "EMEN82" from Toronto. I happen to come across this review randomly while browsing trip advisor. I was the server for this family's table, and would like to comment and give the real version of this story.


IN REGARDS TO THE KIDS: they were running around throwing napkins and packets of sugar at other tables and the guests were (obviously) complaining that the kids were a bother to them. So I kindly asked the woman if she can watch her kids a little bit more closely since they were bothering other guests. Her response was "they're just kids, what do you want?!" completely ignoring that fact that they were disturbing other guests.

IN REGARDS TO HER TO "LONG WAIT" AND "SMALL PORTIONS"
This family literally split everything they ordered (which is perfectly fine) however, the dishes are individual portions not family sized portions.
They also ordered breakfast at around 8pm while we stop serving breakfast at 2pm. Nevertheless, we accommodated their requests in order to make them happy. Then they order more food sporatically for other members of their party that were on the way to the restaurant to meet them. So of course, the food will come out as ordered.

LASTLY:
I can assure anyone reading this that this family received everything they wanted in a timely manner with great service.
This family was a religious Jewish family. I am SHOCKED that they would go out of their way to slander a kosher restaurant the way they did.
In Judaism this is one of the WORST things one can do. I would understand if they were not religious Jews, but they are, so they know better that anyone else this is a rude and uncalled for thing to do. THIS just goes to show the type of characters were are "listening" to.
I wish them well, and they are always welcome back our establishment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“regret coming here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

came here while visiting florida with my hubby, my sister and our kids... place was empty but service was horrendous. not only did each order take a long while to arrive, but the waitress was very rude and was busy on her phone most of the time. i had to keep going inside to order more dishes since their portions were so small. then when our kids were running around and playing (we were seated outside) she was very mean about it. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND this place if you are looking for good food and good service. wont be returning. try china bistro instead, their food and service is much better

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“would not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Service is very poor. Understaffed. Prep times very long. Great location. Outdoor seating available. Just not a well run place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We went there for lunch. It was pretty empty but we enjoyed ourselves & our food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

Had fish one of the times we visited and it was a bit too lemony for my taste. We had the chocolate volcano with ice cream, five stars! When there were not a lot of people service was good. We went a 2nd time and I had the eggs cooked in a spicy sauce (an Israeli dish) and my husband had the 3 egg omelette both excellent. Good coffee. Lots of people and service was average. So don't go if it is busy and you are in a hurry.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gigi's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Gigi's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gigi's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.