We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turnberry Isle Miami-I Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
New City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Turnberry Isle Miami-I Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Turnberry Isle is the way a resort should be. They really have great customer service down to a science. We enjoyed all that the resort had to offer, great hotel, huge, comfortable rooms, good food,and most importantly, FANTASTIC, UNBELIEVABLY GREAT GOLF experience! Can't wait to go back. P.S. I can not for the life of me understand anybody writing a bad review of this place for it's a beautiful resort with great service!

Room Tip: Our room was perfect! Had resort view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    199
    75
    32
    36
See reviews for
223
169
21
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Turnberry Isle is a great resort, with 2 excellent golf courses. Both courses consistently in great shape. Augie makes sure the group well taken care of....attending to every detail. We went with a group of 16, playing 2 rounds a number of days, and everything was perfect, including dealing with challenging weather for the week.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We just stayed one night last week. Had a wonderful dinner in the grille with an old friend. We were delighted with the service and food. Our server was so attentive it made for a special evening. The bar boasts a wonderful selection of scotch and whiskey. It would nice if they had a special whiskey menu at a quick glance i missed out on a favorite. The fine dining looked amazing , maybe next time. The only negative during our stay was the noise from the hallway. We could hear people late at night talking and luggage moving as if they were in our room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just returned home from spending Thanksgiving weekend at the resort. Based upon some of the unkind reviews on TripAdvisor I was not sure what to expect. I am sure glad we ignored them and visited.

We bought the golf/spa couples package and were pleased with everything. We played golf for two days and did spa for two days. The courses where excellent as was all of the staff we encountered on the course. The spa personnel were very courteous, very talented and seemed genuinely interested in their clients well being.

We also did a few group tennis lessons at the tennis club. Gabriel is an excellent tennis teacher (just meeting the guy is worth the walk to the facility) and exemplifies everything that is Turnberry Isle. We had great fun, got some good pointers, met new people and got a good workout to boot.

While the resort could use some updating (relatively minor) this fact was more than compensated for by the staff. I am contemplating calling the management to ask them what they put in the water or make the employees eat that has them in such an excellent mood.

We stayed in stayed in the Jasmine building and will definitely come back for another long weekend in the not too distant future. Five Stars...well done!

Room Tip: premium golf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here as part of a group of 6 on a 3 night golf package, 4 rounds in 3 nights. Very disappointed in the amount of our time they decided to waste. First night they were overbooked and they shuttled us down to Fontainebleu, about a 40 minute trip to South Beach. They comped us that night (or so we have been told but I have yet to receive the credit so writing this review may not help that!) but the amount of time waiting was ridiculous. Waiting for someone to explain the situation. Waiting for someone to get the shuttle. Waiting for someone to explain when we would get our rooms the next day and dodge the question because they had no idea. Waiting at the new hotel for a very slow checkin. Waking up earlier than we wanted to catch shuttle back to golf. Repacking our bags. Waiting the next morning when we arrived only to be told rooms weren't ready. Waiting the next day after our round of golf to be told that checkin was 4:00 and our rooms wouldn't be ready despite the fact our checkin was yesterday. Waiting at 4:00 when all the rooms still weren't ready.

I look forward to management's response (counter staff couldn't give a good one and manager was consistently not available). First, no hotel should overbook. Second, in an overbooked situation why would you bump prepaid rates for which the hotel has zero no-show risk? Third, when you do overbook you should jump through hoops to try to make it up. This is particularly disappointing as we are repeat visitors, and as recently as two months ago my wife had stayed there, complimented the stay to the manager, who had supposedly taken our group's name and said we would be well taken care of. I don't imagine this is what she had in mind.

All the other amenities seem excellent. Great rooms, golf courses in very nice shape.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Turnberry Isle Miami with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and is an invaluable tool for us to ensure that we are doing everything possible to satisfy the needs of our guests.

I am sorry to hear about your experience with overbooking and the challenges you faced because of our walk situation. I would like to look into this in further detail. I have sent you a message privately with hopes that we can connect and discuss your experience.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

It's a magnificent 2 course golf resort and they have 2 swimming pools! Located across the street from the Aventura Mall and only 15 minutes from Bal Harbour Shops. The resort offers a shuttle to the Aventura mall & the beach! The rooms and bathrooms are large and equipped with new flat screen TVs including Satellite service. The staff make this resort a truly pleasurable vacation. We would like to highlight a few of the best, note that all staff interactions were excellent: The Golf Pro Hiro Suzuki gave us the best golf lessons and tips that improved our game tremendously. We strongly suggest taking a lesson with him! He is the epitome of an extraordinary golf pro. The waitresses, Bridgitte and Lauren, at the Cascada during the breakfast buffet were professional, polite and definitely exceeded all our expectations. The "Best" steak house in Miami, "Bourbon Steak", is located on the premises (our server Victor made it a most enjoyable experience - Ask for him when you go) The parking lot attendant Julio was courteous, quick and efficient. Thanks for a great vacation! We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I travel for a living and have had the great pleasure of staying in many of the best resorts in the nation. This one has all of the ability to be great but unfortunately it is run like a two but bed and breakfast that just opened yesterday. The staff that are helpful are grossly outnumbered against a guest list that puts the hotel at capacity. Poolside, I ordered lunch and a drink with a friend, 2 hours later her food showed up it no drinks. There was one poor server in charge of an indoor/outdoor patio as well as the pool area with a sold out hotel! I tend to be forgiving but there was nothing resort about the service one receives here.

There are great conference facilities here but again the conference planners and staff fall short. I watched VIPs at my conference get turned away to other nearby hotels that were not this caliber- these were VIPS! In all honesty these VIPs probably got better service at the courtyard marriott than this place.

All of this is to say is that this could be a great place but it isn't. I would never choose to come back to stay for pleasure not would I ever bring a large conference here. My experience with the service was very much amateur hour. It is a shame but this hotel does not live up to the Marriott standard.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Address: 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its two championship golf courses designed by Raymond Floyd, Celebrity Chef Michael Mina's award-winning BOURBON STEAK restaurant, three-story Spa & Fitness Center, the elite Canas Tennis, three relaxing pools, 40,000 square feet of meetings space, Beach Club on The Atlantic, 117-slip Marina and engaging kids camps all within reach of 408 spacious guest rooms and suites. Just minutes from South Beach, Turnberry Isle Miami is located across the street from South Florida's leading shopping destination - Aventura Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.