We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, beautiful property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Aventura
1 review
“Great staff, beautiful property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I just recently stayed at this beautiful hotel and the staff was outstanding! I spent all my days at the pool and all the guys who set me up were friendly and kind also the young girl on the slide was great as well she knew how to handle the kids. I ate from the grill everyday and the food was at its best, especially the Asian salad, I give that 5 stars. My only complaint about the pool experience is one day I sat up on the tables by the grill (they were pulled in because of the raining week) and I overheard the manager (he seemed to be the manager due to the fact he was not serving and had on a different uniform on, a collared shirt) aggressively and rudely talk to his employees. I only mean to bring this up because of the fact I was sitting right there and I couldn't help but it hear it and it was not pleasant
at all. I did enjoy the service of the bartender and servers Patrick and Angie. They always
Made sure to keep a smile on our faces during lunch and always kept a smile on their faces as well. I also enjoyed the service of the valet man whom I can not remember his name. We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your recent stay and moreover had the opportunity to experience our popular Laguna Pool. Thank you for your feedback. We will also immediately address the service professional you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    199
    75
    32
    35
See reviews for
223
167
21
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have stayed at this property several times over the past few years and have always enjoyed our visits. However, we just spent 4 nights here and this was the best visit yet. The hotel has upgraded the loungers in the pool area and all areas of the hotel were very clean and well maintained.
Our room was large and had one of the most beautiful bathrooms in any hotel we have visited. The breakfast buffet in the Grill was also perfection! The staff were all helpful and made you feel welcome and special. Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel has a lot of remnants from it days as a Fairmont Hotel which is a good thing! The hotel was above my expectations, as I'm not always sure what to expect from an Autograph hotel (they are all different and somewhat inconsistent). The rooms were large with a nice balcony with room to sit, read and get sun. The bathrooms are oversized with shower and a tub - which I have seen at other Fairmont's that I have stayed at. Rooms were very clean.

I had room service twice and both meals were excellent. I had dinner at the bar at the hotel's Bourbon Restaurant - the meal was great but the prices very high for both food and liquor (very high) and the lady bartender was indifferent / not friendly at all - this was my only negative experience. I was attending a meeting and the banquet food was good.

I was staying here on a biz trip and would definitely return and try this hotel out for a leisure stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are happy to learn that your experience was most enjoyable and exceeded your expectations. We will immediately address your comment about the service professional at Bourbon Steak, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future for leisure.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel as a whole is great, we really enjoyed it, but for the price, and reputation they really need to keep up with basic maintenance. Having paint peel on the pool is unacceptable. Having puddles of water hours after rain, with "watch out for water" signs is not acceptable, all they would have had to do was use a squeegee. These are basics for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay in August. We are committed to the cleanliness and routine maintenance of Turnberry Isle Miami. Please rest assured a number of improvements are being made around the property in our continued commitment to deliver a world-class experience to our guests. We appreciate and value your comments.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We are a family of 4 adults who have just returned from a stay at The Turnberry. We viewed the website before booking and to be honest, what we saw & experienced was nothing like we were expecting. To start with, the valet parking was ridiculous. There were ample parking spaces, but we were not allowed to park our own vehicle. The 2 rooms we were given in Orchid were spacious but very dated with a definite smell of damp. They bore no resemblance at all to any of the pictures on the website. To be perfectly honest, none of us wished to stay any longer than necessary in the rooms- they were too depressing. We actually couldn't wait to check out.
On a plus side, the Cascata Grill was very nice where a good buffet breakfast was served.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sara,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. We are disappointed to learn of your experience and have sent you a private message so we may discuss further.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I travel weekly across the world, spending more than 150 nights a year in hotels across the globe, so I have a pretty good idea of what makes a good or bad hotel.

And this place is a fabulous hotel property. Location is perfect, rooms are great, public areas nice, and the pool areas, with a little more loving care – perfect. So I feel its a real shame that all this potential is let down by very poor service across almost every part of the hotel. Check-in was a nightmare, and all the rooms we had booked 6-months before we arrived were not available and it took us more than half an hour to sort out the rooms, and we still didn't get what we had booked.

There were a few minor issues in the rooms, Tvs not working, light bulbs out, etc – but nothing particularly serious – but housekeeping was totally sporadic, sometimes not happening till late in the day and little things, like body wash not being replaced, or very poor quality towels, etc, really irritated. Also, why is there no turn down and free water? Even a 3-star Holiday Inn manages to get this right. And this adds to the feel that the management are trying to Nickel and Dime guests at every turn and not put the cash back into the hotel.

Pool staff were friendly, but stayed in their towel hut (which were often ripped and dirty, like the umbrellas and sun lounger mattresses) and not servicing guests – and bar staff were impossible to find anywhere.

When we pulled up, the 5 bell-staff were all distracted by a female guest, and we spent 20 mins waiting for attention. And don't get me started on the ridiculous valet parking issue, which simply offends. The concierge was next to hopeless and the Bar Staff, grumpy and uninterested. I know we were there in the off-season – but that’s still no excuse.

Its almost criminal that such a great physical property has such appalling service. If they sorted this out this could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
As a seasoned traveler who stays at hotels across the globe, your feedback is valuable. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to learn that it did not meet expectations. Please rest assured that we are committed to service excellence and are immediately addressing your comments with our team. Additionally, we are in the process of installing new flat screen TVs in our guest rooms this week and have ordered brand new umbrellas and plush covers for our pool lounge chairs. In hopes we may discuss and further learn from your experience, we have sent you a private message.

Regards,

James Paul
Director of Quality & Training
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Arrival was outstanding. As my wife and I arrived and turned over our keys to the valet, each of the 5 employees I encountered on the way to the desk welcomed us by our name... made us feel special and welcomed. We had a king room with sitting area in Jasmine. The room was large, clean and fresh. Bath was also large, clean and fresh. Dinner in the Cacita (?) was very good... try the scallops; perfectly prepared. Departure after two nights was as spectacular as the arrival. Bell staff on the mark and car in synch with our departure. During the stay ALL employees we encountered spoke, smiled and made eye contact. Great job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Address: 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Aventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its two championship golf courses designed by Raymond Floyd, Celebrity Chef Michael Mina's award-winning BOURBON STEAK restaurant, three-story Spa & Fitness Center, the elite Canas Tennis, three relaxing pools, 40,000 square feet of meetings space, Beach Club on The Atlantic, 117-slip Marina and engaging kids camps all within reach of 408 spacious guest rooms and suites. Just minutes from South Beach, Turnberry Isle Miami is located across the street from South Florida's leading shopping destination - Aventura Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.