We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Service Excellent, Value Not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Vermont
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food and Service Excellent, Value Not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I spent last week at Turnberry Isle and enjoyed the lazy river, pool, private beach and large bathroom. The food I ate there was amazing. The bartender in the lobby bar and the servers near the pool all provided excellent service. Being from New England, I was a bit surprised when I spotted a gecko crawling up the wall in my room. The housekeeping staff took 30 mins to come and remove it. The blow dryer "blew" up on me and started smoking. The staff replaced it for me.
The private beach was really nice but don't expect the bartenders to come to the beach to serve you. We had to go get our own drinks.
We utilized the conference rooms and two days in a row we had little bugs crawling all over the tables. The third day they put us in a different room, after we requested it. The food they served us, was amazing.
Right outside the gate is a 2.8 mile walk/running path.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. We are happy to learn that your overall experience with our facilities, staff and food was excellent. Please know that we have already addressed your comments and concerns with our team and hope to welcome you back for a leisure stay in the future.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    211
    83
    34
    38
See reviews for
232
188
21
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for business in July. I have to say this is just not the kind of resort for me. While the rooms were beautiful and huge (especially the bathroom!) I will not be in a hurry to stay again.
The Good:
Check in staff were very friendly, even while receiving some abuse from another guest
Room was very large with comfortable bed and two sets of French doors
Bathroom was really nice, huge tub, separate shower, etc. Loved the dressing and makeup area outside the bathroom
In room coffee pot is always nice to have
The Bad:
Expensive valet parking, with no option to self park. ALWAYS had to wait, even when calling ahead and they weren't busy
Thin, cheap towels in the bathroom. Really? Everything else was so nice!
Ate at the Casitas Grill one night. Service was sloppy and didn't seem like they cared to have customers. We were one of two tables dining inside that night, they were not swamped. Food was pretty good but we felt so unwelcome we wouldn't have considered going back.
Not convenient for business travel at all. While I realize that most travelers to the resort are vacationing, in most resorts you can fit in as a business traveler. Didn't feel that here.
Bottom line, the nice rooms were not enough that I would consider staying again. Sadly, enjoyed the Courtyard by Marriott more and it was half the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are disappointed to learn of your recent experience and have privately messaged you in hopes we may connect.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Almost every month my hubby and I stay at Turnberry Isle. We can def. say that comparing to other places, Turnberry Isle isn't not only better re the large rooms, but also prices and service in the hotel, including the valet parking and luggage service. A BIG Thanks for the very helpful and always friendly David Munoz, Jorge B. and Julio V.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We value our repeat guests and appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience at our resort. We’ll be sure to share your comments with the service professionals you mentioned and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A great resort with golf course and nice looking pool.

Room was large, with patio overlooking the golf course. The bathroom was huge with both shower and separate tub.

Only real issue was on check out. Requested a car / taxi to get to FLL for a early morning flight and confirmed with front desk that was paying by credit card. To my surprise on arrival at FLL the taxi did not take credit cards. Other was I left my valet ticket at front desk for another guest to use my car. The front desk nor the valet could not find the ticket or receipt for the car. My friend had to go through all the keys in the valet station to find the car.

Hotel is nice but not really geared for business travel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarhurst, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to Turnberry Isle. I wanted to focus on the incredible service of the pool staff, Tyandra, Pablo, Emanuel, Patrick, Angie and their Outtanding manager Stephanie. Thank you and the rest of the staff at Turnberry for making this such a relaxing trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Joe,

Mojitos, golf, tennis and impeccable service sound like a perfect vacation. We are glad you enjoyed all four at our resort and thank you for acknowledging our hard-working pool team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Don't do it!!! It is my advise to all.

Service is the worst when it comes to concierge and moving about.
NO CAB SERVICE really? Missed our dinner Reservation twice in one night
Ended up having to rent a car to escape the poor service.
Over priced like you cannot believe.
Two drinks, pool side . $30.00. Grat @20% on everything no matter the service.
It can be, and has been go Scr-w yourself service and 20% added for insult to injury.
Locked out of room after leaving for breakfast. Worst time to be locked if there is a good time.
Bed is shot, and pad is insult to injury.


Pass you could spend half the money on a better more well maintained resort.

BTW,
Florida in general is not what it use to be.
My last trip last year I noticed the difference.
Customer service no matter where you go, rental a car, hotel, dinner or the airport total slip.
Go some place that appreciates your patronage.

Room Tip: DON'T best tip I can provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Director of Quality & Training at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are disappointed to learn of your recent experience at Turnberry Isle Miami and have sent you a private message so we can better understand and learn from your concerns.

Regards,
James Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Turnberry Isle is a excellent hotel, with excellent rooms, excellent services with a very courteous and efficient attendants. The hotel pools and golf camp are spectacular, the breakfast is good. It was one of the best hotels that a have stayed in the Miami area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Address: 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its two championship golf courses designed by Raymond Floyd, Celebrity Chef Michael Mina's award-winning BOURBON STEAK restaurant, three-story Spa & Fitness Center, the elite Canas Tennis, three relaxing pools, 40,000 square feet of meetings space, Beach Club on The Atlantic, 117-slip Marina and engaging kids camps all within reach of 408 spacious guest rooms and suites. Just minutes from South Beach, Turnberry Isle Miami is located across the street from South Florida's leading shopping destination - Aventura Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.