We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Aventura
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is difficult hotel to rate. The hotel itself is lovely, and the service is top notch for the most part. Our room was spacious with a gorgeous balcony overlooking a waterfall. The bed was comfortable. On the down side, the pool was extremely overcrowded and lunch service at the pool was painfully slow. Also - while the grounds were attractive - there were very limited places to walk or just relax. Valet parking was expensive at $30 a day, and there was no other parking option. The conference room we used was dark and unattractive. I've had the pleasure of staying at quite a few of the nation's best hotels, and for the price I'm not sure this one measures up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your honest feedback and are glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and spacious guest rooms. Please know we have addressed your comments with our pool team. Regarding valet parking, our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel we offer good value given our location and extensive amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    180
    68
    32
    32
See reviews for
200
150
17
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just arrived from a week at Turnberry. Location is somewhat far from most of the hot spots of Miami, except the Aventura Mall, but not too a major drag. This is the least favorable part of the hotel, and far from a negative. On the positive side, most impressive is the service level across the board - from the registration desk to the waitering to the room service. The rooms are very spacious and so are the bathrooms. The golf courses are wonderful, the driving range also nice and the tennis courts are well kept. The staff at the golf pro shop are super nice and there is plenty of equipment to rent (we didn't bring clubs along). The kids will love the water tube swimming pool and the adults looking for peace will appreciate the second swimming pool distant form the first. We arrived early and had no problems with early checking. Wonderful week. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, General Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Fabiano,

Thank you for continuing to think of us so shortly after returning home from your family vacation. We are delighted to learn that you were impressed with our beautiful property and attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Management Team at Turnberry Isle Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Eire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just returned from a far too brief stay at this amazing place. It really is top of the range. Tropical decor, lush vegetation, rambling paths leading you around a massive resort that manages to still feel intimate. The rooms are enormous, with sweeping, tall ceilings and large balconies with pretty views. The Lagoon Pool is a great place to spend the day. There's also golf and tennis too, although I preferred lounging in a sun chair the whole time. Great food at Cascata Grill (breakfast buffet was particularly impressive -- so much fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, pancakes! Leave room). Only stumbling block was the couple of entitled snobs I overheard being rude to the (fantastic, friendly, efficient) staff. But you do get that sometimes at expensive, 5-star places. Too bad they chose to be horrible, instead of enjoying the beautiful paradise surroundings. This would be a great place to celebrate a honeymoon or other special occasion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stay at this hotel on business once a year -- have been doing so for the past five years. The hotel is excels at many levels. Spacious, very nice and clean rooms. Great service. Beautiful grounds. Well kept tennis courts. Excellent spa. Abundant meeting space. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

For the high end amenities this resort offers, I was astonished to smell toxic paint outside my door. I immediately went down to address this concern and was given a long a
wait by a befuddled front desk attendant. Rather than immediately address my concern as to why we were not told that there was going to be painting performed and call a manager, I stood waiting and was told to go check the smell again and they would not paint around the side of my door. Well, if a hotel guest has an allergy to make them suffer and endanger themselves at a high end resort is unheard of. I personally sought out a manager who then moved my room. I am disappointed by the fact that in high season on a sold out weekend, guests would be subjected to repairs without notice. I also was disappointed with the 90 minutes we spent to have this process happen and that a manager would make the guest personally go back and forth through an industrial strength paint zone. I have been treated better at Marriott's lower end sister properties and was beyond inconvenienced with the health of myself and young child put at risk by noxious paint fumes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. What you have detailed is certainly not our standard. So we may address your concerns and learn from your experience, we have sent you a private message in hopes we may speak directly with you.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at Turnberry for a week over the holidays. It was a busy time at the resort, but we had nothing but the best of service from hotel staff. We love staying at Turnberry because of its centralized location, the beauty of the grounds, the size of the guest rooms and its comfy fluffy beds. We had a beautiful golf view with a sitting area that had a sofa bed perfect for our 7-year old daughter. Our family loved hanging out at the Laguna Pool, with the Lazy River and Waterfall Slide. We liked the older bartender at the front Cascata Pool as well. He makes a wicked chocolate milkshake for kids! Bourbon Steak is one of our favorite restaurants in Miami. The food, service and wine list are beyond compare. Finally, the location of Turnberry is perfect during the holidays because it is right across the street from Aventura Mall which is always needed for last-minute gifts and gift-wrapping services. But being at the resort is like being a world away from the hustle-and-bustle of Aventura/Miami. We are grateful for our time there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This ultra fabulous resort never fails in any aspect of the "royal" treatment of their guests. My husband and I were there over the Christmas Holidays, and in spite of the number of people staying there, found everything to be working extremely well, as usual.

From arrival and very friendly, welcoming, smiling, parking valet, to both check-in and check-out with courteous, welcoming, smiling front desk agents, to our room - large and luxurious, clean
to a perfectionist's (Me) satisfaction, properly supplied - without fault. The TIR is truly a gorgeous property, in a great location. We love it more everytime we visit.

We love the menu, food, and wonderful staff at the Casata Grill. The Bourbon Steak Restaurant
is a beautiful and sparkling gem. The menu, libations and food, and solicitous, attentive staff always provide an excellent dining experience.

One thing that we did notice this year was that there were some "disgruntled" guests - mostly foreigners, maybe some group or family reunion, who seemed to find "fault" with everybody and everything. They made their "issues" to staff members loudly, aggresively, rudely, inappropriately, and in my estimation, unwarranted, in front of other guests, who just shook their heads. Don't go away at Holidays if you don't expect "crowds" and maybe exercise a little patience with the people handling guests other than yourselves. I guess the adage is true about not pleasing all the people all the time.

My husband and I have always gone away for the Christmas Holidays. We have stayed at most of the finest hotels in both the American and British Virgin Isles, as well as most to the north
of the South American border.

We feel that there is no subsitution for great American hotels and hospitality, Turnberry truly has got it all! We love it, we will return, and we will recommend it to family and friends who have not had the pleasure of staying there, and don't about this amazing resort experience.

Room Tip: Check resort layout for room preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, General Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Mari,

Thank you for the glowing review. We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your “royal” treatment during your stay with us over the busy Christmas holidays and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Management Team at Turnberry Isle Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Fairmont Turnberry
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida
Address: 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Aventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on 300 tropical acres is the legendary Turnberry Isle Miami with beautifully-appointed spacious guest rooms and suites, golf unlike any other in the Sunshine State, the finest spa amenities, the best gourmet dining in Miami including Celebrity Chef Michael Mina's Bourbon Steak restaurant, a family-friendly Laguna Pool and private Beach Club. Have you made your vacation plans yet? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.