We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a fully booked BCS National Championship weekend this hotel surprised guests by performing a full painting renovation in the” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“On a fully booked BCS National Championship weekend this hotel surprised guests by performing a full painting renovation in the”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

For the high end amenities this resort offers, I was astonished to smell toxic paint outside my door. I immediately went down to address this concern and was given a long a
wait by a befuddled front desk attendant. Rather than immediately address my concern as to why we were not told that there was going to be painting performed and call a manager, I stood waiting and was told to go check the smell again and they would not paint around the side of my door. Well, if a hotel guest has an allergy to make them suffer and endanger themselves at a high end resort is unheard of. I personally sought out a manager who then moved my room. I am disappointed by the fact that in high season on a sold out weekend, guests would be subjected to repairs without notice. I also was disappointed with the 90 minutes we spent to have this process happen and that a manager would make the guest personally go back and forth through an industrial strength paint zone. I have been treated better at Marriott's lower end sister properties and was beyond inconvenienced with the health of myself and young child put at risk by noxious paint fumes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. What you have detailed is certainly not our standard. So we may address your concerns and learn from your experience, we have sent you a private message in hopes we may speak directly with you.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    242
    96
    44
    42
See reviews for
270
215
22
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at Turnberry for a week over the holidays. It was a busy time at the resort, but we had nothing but the best of service from hotel staff. We love staying at Turnberry because of its centralized location, the beauty of the grounds, the size of the guest rooms and its comfy fluffy beds. We had a beautiful golf view with a sitting area that had a sofa bed perfect for our 7-year old daughter. Our family loved hanging out at the Laguna Pool, with the Lazy River and Waterfall Slide. We liked the older bartender at the front Cascata Pool as well. He makes a wicked chocolate milkshake for kids! Bourbon Steak is one of our favorite restaurants in Miami. The food, service and wine list are beyond compare. Finally, the location of Turnberry is perfect during the holidays because it is right across the street from Aventura Mall which is always needed for last-minute gifts and gift-wrapping services. But being at the resort is like being a world away from the hustle-and-bustle of Aventura/Miami. We are grateful for our time there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This ultra fabulous resort never fails in any aspect of the "royal" treatment of their guests. My husband and I were there over the Christmas Holidays, and in spite of the number of people staying there, found everything to be working extremely well, as usual.

From arrival and very friendly, welcoming, smiling, parking valet, to both check-in and check-out with courteous, welcoming, smiling front desk agents, to our room - large and luxurious, clean
to a perfectionist's (Me) satisfaction, properly supplied - without fault. The TIR is truly a gorgeous property, in a great location. We love it more everytime we visit.

We love the menu, food, and wonderful staff at the Casata Grill. The Bourbon Steak Restaurant
is a beautiful and sparkling gem. The menu, libations and food, and solicitous, attentive staff always provide an excellent dining experience.

One thing that we did notice this year was that there were some "disgruntled" guests - mostly foreigners, maybe some group or family reunion, who seemed to find "fault" with everybody and everything. They made their "issues" to staff members loudly, aggresively, rudely, inappropriately, and in my estimation, unwarranted, in front of other guests, who just shook their heads. Don't go away at Holidays if you don't expect "crowds" and maybe exercise a little patience with the people handling guests other than yourselves. I guess the adage is true about not pleasing all the people all the time.

My husband and I have always gone away for the Christmas Holidays. We have stayed at most of the finest hotels in both the American and British Virgin Isles, as well as most to the north
of the South American border.

We feel that there is no subsitution for great American hotels and hospitality, Turnberry truly has got it all! We love it, we will return, and we will recommend it to family and friends who have not had the pleasure of staying there, and don't about this amazing resort experience.

Room Tip: Check resort layout for room preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, General Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Mari,

Thank you for the glowing review. We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your “royal” treatment during your stay with us over the busy Christmas holidays and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Management Team at Turnberry Isle Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Yes the grounds are nice but when you are paying for this hotel you also expect certain quality of service, and sadly it was never delivered. The hotel has not the best location,the only good thing is that is in front of the Aventura Mall, but apart from that, everything is far.
What really disappointed me was actually after my stay. I'd forgotten two items at my room, left for one week for a cruise and as soon as I arrived to Miami I went to the hotel.
Unfortunately my items weren't found but the thing that pissed me off was the fact that the front desk agent SHENA told us that they were already in the garbage and she even laughed about it. She said it was way too late (1 week, seriously?!) for them to keep them. Then I was told by the Lost & Found department that they save lost items for 90 days.
So, really think about coming here, not great location, a huge price tag and very bad service. I really hope the hotel can see this and fire people (SHENA) that shouldn't work in the hospitality industry (not even in a Best Western)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Front Desk Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Oscar,

As discussed, we were disappointing to learn that your check-out experience did not meet your expectations. We are glad that we had the opportunity to speak with you and have addressed your concerns.

Regards,
Front Desk Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

There is no question that in an age of cookie cutter hotels and standardization that this property stands out, but that should never mean a shortfall in service. In this case it does.

Examples:
--An hour's wait for room service. And also being placed on hold several times while we tried to order.
--Friends trying to reach an operator to talk to us waiting so long they had to give up.
--Our not being told that an important package had arrived for us and when I contacted the hotel having to wait nearly four hours before it was delivered. And it required one front office visit and two additional phone calls to receive it.
--Having to wait nearly seven hours for coffee packages for the machine in our room to be delivered.
--Sitting in the breakfast restaurant with dirty tables on either side of us that we're not cleaned up for 10 minutes (and paying an 18% mandatory service charge for a buffet breakfast)
--Waiting until 6 PM for our room to be serviced.

Now the hotel's excuse will be "too many guests checking in and out". But this had to be known to management for a long period of time. Adding staff at peak times and not penalizing guests is the solution.

The hotel is beautiful, but that was not enough to overcome these deficiencies.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Steve,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay. At Turnberry Isle Miami, we are committed to service excellence and are disappointed that you felt our service fell short during your visit. Please know we have addressed all of the examples you provided and have messaged you privately in hopes we may connect.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently were there for a family celebration. Everything was beyond expectations Rachel P made sure our stay was the best. In fact it was SO good that we are planning another family visit there next Xmas! We had a cabana where we were treated royally and loved the pool, the slide and especially the lazy river. Diining was elegant, service was perfect, We can't wait to go there next Xmas. The rooms are gorgeous with large balconies with a beautiful view.

Room Tip: We got the suite and LOVED it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just checked in and the room is disgusting. Crumbs and dirt on the floor. Bathroom vanity is filthy. Beds are beat up. Front desk staff seems disinterested. Very tired and dated rooms. I imagine there are better less expensive options.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Address: 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its two championship golf courses designed by Raymond Floyd, Celebrity Chef Michael Mina's award-winning BOURBON STEAK restaurant, three-story Spa & Fitness Center, the elite Canas Tennis, three relaxing pools, 40,000 square feet of meetings space, Beach Club on The Atlantic, 117-slip Marina and engaging kids camps all within reach of 408 spacious guest rooms and suites. Just minutes from South Beach, Turnberry Isle Miami is located across the street from South Florida's leading shopping destination - Aventura Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.