We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property is no longer exceptional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Property is no longer exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have had the pleasure of coming to this hotel for the past several years but this year might be the last. If the new ownership of this hotel doesn't return to the previous standards, this hotel will die a slow death.
Check-in desk is now two portable desks at either end of the hotel entrance, not exactly 'classy'. When we checked in, no one offered to bring our luggage to our room. The counter attendant(who didn't crack a smile) gave us our key but didn't notice we had reserved two rooms. The front desk person had all the personality and intelligence of a Target cashier, she should not have been the front face of a supposedly 5 star hotel. Many of the senior staff left during the ownership change, it appears that the new HR mgr was not very discerning in who was hired to replace them.
Unlike past years there was no evening turn down service or complimentary bottles of water. We requested a NYTimes, it was never left at our door.
The line-ups for getting our car were long. When I called to warn them I would be needing my car I was placed on hold for several minutes before speaking to a human being, same for housekeeping, I had never before called housekeeping only to be told by a machine that an attendant will be with me shortly. It took them 4 hours to come and make a bed for us. We called for a wake up call, in most upscale hotels we would we greeted with a Hello Mr or Mrs x, how may I help you. For some reason here they asked us which room we were calling from.
Breakfast-nowhere near as organized as last year. We asked to be seated outside as the lineup was too long but the woman in charge said it was unbearably cold. It was 65 and sunny.
The hotel has a great pool and is perfectly situated by Aventura Mall but the new management needs to understand that their repeat guests will not spend 10 grand a week for average service, for that kind of money they expect exceptional. Oh and the AC in our room sounded like a jet engine.
On a positive note, the new WiFi is great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
It has always been our pleasure to welcome you back to the resort. We truly value our repeat guests and are incredibly disappointed to learn about your experience. You'll find we have sent you a private message. I hope to have the opportunity to connect with you soon.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos
Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    202
    76
    32
    36
See reviews for
226
170
21
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Overall service has been poor with most departments understaffed -poor service and poor cleanliness throughout..current management seem to care about profit rather than a good paying customer experience..waited over 60 minutes for food at the beach,15 minutes for breakfast,while empty tables were not cleared,with debris on the floor, waiting 25 minutes for the car valet,and over 30 minutes for the beach shuttle-gave up waiting and took a taxi....its a great hotel that has the benefit of poormanagment

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are incredibly disappointed to learn about your recent experience and have privately messaged you in hopes we may connect to discuss further. Thank you in advance for your time.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos
Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is our third visit to Turnberry. We visit Aventura every year at this time (I.e. christmas week-the busiest week in south Florida) and vary our stay between here and the Residence Inn across the street.Obviously, Turnberry is the pricier option, but in the past we've always been pleased with our splurge. This year we were disappointed with our stay from the moment we arrived. There was one woman staffing the check-in desk and we waited in line for 25 minutes. We checked into our room which, while spacious and nicely decorated, was in need of considerable reconditioning. The upholstered box frame on both beds was frayed and filthy. The sofa was in poor condition with a marker stain across one cushion. There were scuff marks all over the wood floors. I called the front desk to ask for a room change and was put on hold for 15 minutes. When we spoke with the front desk and the manager, we were told that there were no other rooms and we were not offered any compensation for the sub standard condition of the room.

Retrieving our car was a similarly frustrating experience as it took over 45 minutes for our car to be brought around from the time that we called down from our room. While the staff is friendly, management needs to have more staff on hand in peak periods and to justify their nightly rate of $600.

We will not be returning here on our annual visit to Florida.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again over the holidays. We only wish your experience at check-in, with your guest room and valet had been better as we are committed to service excellence. We truly value our repeat guests and have privately messaged you in hopes we may discuss your concerns and learn from your experience further.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos
Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Arrived on the 23rd December for 11 nights. We have stayed here many times before, and our last stay was in April.
The hotel has really gone downhill. First complaint was that I you know want to stay in the Jasmine building the management want to charge you an extra $50/pn for the privilege. We have 3 rooms so an extra $150 over 11 nights, works out to a massive $1650 just to start with. Our first rooms in the run down Orchid block, looked like something from the 1970s, tired, dark and depressing, but according to the front desk, they have had a "light" refurbishment. That was an exaggeration.
After nearly two hours we did get moved to Jasmine, and the extra charge was waived, but it was a huge battle.
Next the beach club, is beyond repair. Rusty sun beds, towels with holes in, no mattresses, torn umbrellas, and this is meant to be a deluxe resort. Lunch took 2 hours, no tables, no staff, no organisation. Had to go in the kitchen myself to get my order. Would have been better going across the road to Miami Juice and getting take out. So, so disappointing.
The pool area at the hotel. I know it's Xmas and busy, but to have to wait on line from 8.15 am just to get a bed for my family is a joke. I am supposed to be on vacation, it really isn't on, but if you aren't there early, forget it! At least the beds here have mattresses and are comfortable unlike the beach.
The rooms, no turndown at night anymore. For a deluxe resort you expect these things, but not anymore at Turnberry. After the maid had down the room, there were no face cloths and no bath mats...twice!!!!
This elegant resort, charges top $$$$$, but so fails to deliver in all aspects. It's s a real pity, as we used to love it here, and have been coming for years, but after this disappointing stay, from now on we will be giving it a miss, and looking for somewhere else that actually provides the guests what they expect. If you charge the money that you do, you should deliver the goods, Turnberry Isle has an awful lot to live up to.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us over the Christmas holiday. We only wish your experience at Turnberry Isle Miami had been better. We truly value our loyal guests and have privately messaged you in hopes we may discuss your concerns and learn from your experience further.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos
Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed here with over 30 members of my family for a vacation and none of us will return. It was overcrowded with pushy, rude people and the staff doesn't give quality service or attention. The worst times at the hotel were breakfast. They tried to cram the entire hotel into one small hotel restaurant and it proved to be a mess. They ran out of food immediately, a long line ensued, food spilled everywhere, there was no seating, and the staff was completely lost as to what to do. For our last day, we had reserved a separate room for breakfast months in advance. It was confirmed twice but still, upon arrival, the manager said,"a reservation shouldn't have been taken. It's not your problem, it's ours." Correct me if I'm wrong, but if I make a reservation for 32 people and you don't honor it, it is very much my problem, whether or not they take reservations. Instead of trying to accommodate and find us another space for our group, they said we'd have to sit separately and wait for the tables to become available. So much for a family vacation. This is one of several problems I and my family had at the hotel. It needs a quick shape up before it gets worse. Keep looking for a better quality and price. This isn't it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Food & Beverage Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay. Your feedback is valuable to us and we are disappointed to learn that our service did not live up to your expectations during your family vacation. Please know we have addressed the concerns you detailed in your review with our Cascata Grill restaurant team. So we may learn further from your experience, I have privately messaged you and look forward to the opportunity to speak with you.

Regards,
Monti Felaya
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Been regulars here for some time and we are sad to report that things here have degenerated. Many reasons ....Lining up for breakfast when there are empty tables not cleared, towels shabby and you have to request a turndown service, rooms are not cleaned efficiently and in need of restoration, it is no longer value for money but rather overpriced for a 5 star resort that is not offering 5 star service. Marriott you need to address this situation..some of the regular staff ie. Lauren in cascada grill and manny and Pablo by the pool are still serving us well but there are not enough of them . My mum lost some reading glasses and I lost a cosmetic case that no one has found even though we have reported this to lost property no one has contacted us and we have to ask daily. Overall -my kids love it here which is why we keep coming back but I think this could be our last visit..sad as we have always been fond of the place :(

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay and also for acknowledging several of our star service professionals. However, we are disappointed to learn that your last visit to our property did not meet expectations. We have addressed the concerns you detailed in your review, and have privately messaged you in hopes we may connect to learn about your experience further and also to ensure the items that were reported missing have been recovered.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos
Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is absolutely amazing. We are not golfers, but the hotel offer an awesome pool, the lazy river is very cool and the cascata grill food was delicious. Valet is very expensive. Top rated hotel in Miami. We hope stay next year again!!! My son loves the bathtub.

Room Tip: 3431 room was the best with a great golf view. 3302 room has no view and has a noisy A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, General Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback from your recent family vacation. We are happy to learn you enjoyed many of our world-class amenities including the Laguna Pool. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Management Team at Turnberry Isle Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Address: 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its two championship golf courses designed by Raymond Floyd, Celebrity Chef Michael Mina's award-winning BOURBON STEAK restaurant, three-story Spa & Fitness Center, the elite Canas Tennis, three relaxing pools, 40,000 square feet of meetings space, Beach Club on The Atlantic, 117-slip Marina and engaging kids camps all within reach of 408 spacious guest rooms and suites. Just minutes from South Beach, Turnberry Isle Miami is located across the street from South Florida's leading shopping destination - Aventura Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.