We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
tampa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Secret Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We travel to the Miami area twice a year. We usually stay at the Ritz Carlton in Key Biscayne, Ritz Carlton, Coconut Grove or The Fountainbleu.
Our son had a lacrosse tournament in the Fort Lauderdale area. We found this resort online and figured we would give it a shot.
WOW! It is a gorgeous property. VERY luxurious. Where has this place been hiding? I cannot say enough good things about it! Room service was incredible. They even have a pet menu! I can always tell what type of stay I am going to have the minute the valet opens the car door. These guys were awesome. I can honestly say that Turnberry Valet and The Four Seasons Vancouver valet are two of the best.
And here's THE BEST PART, it was 1/2 the price of The Ritz. After this post, I guess it is not so secret anymore?!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, General Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Turnberry Isle Miami. We are thrilled to learn of your discovery of our 300-acre tropical retreat and hope you’ll share us with your friends and family. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Management Team at Turnberry Isle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    210
    81
    34
    38
See reviews for
231
187
21
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed here in july and the whole place was very busy from the confrence center and the golf courses were great.The private beach was great with the shuttle bus taking you there and back.The prices were a bit expensive to what you were actually receiving but all in all i found this an enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: mall only 5 minutes walk from hotel with all the shops you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I recently celebarated our anniversary with a 2 night stay at the Turnberry in Aventura. I have been to the area many times but this was my first time at this property.

After being checked into an older room that we did not care for, we asked to see some of the more updated rooms and we were switched into a recently renovated room that was beautiful with a view to match.

The hotels grounds are gorgeous and expansive with an adults pool and sepearate kids pool that is enormous- complete with water slide and lazy river.

We didnt play golf, but we had a lovely view of the course from our balcony.

We did run into some minor issues during our stay but the manager, Maria Meneus, addressed them promptly and very professionally. The staff was also equally friendly and courteous.

We recommend this hotel and look forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

First visit to this hotel, that looks like a Four Season, but feels like a Marriott. The facilities are fantastic, nice rooms, pools, and of course a huge golf course. However, I the staff and I mean all the staff need serious re-training in how to speak, treat and smile to clients. I dont think I heard the word "thank you" or "good morning" from more than one employee. There are no smiles here, no "going out of the way" to help or open a door, not here. Most - 98% - of the staff is low on energy, is somewhere else in their heads and dont care about the clients. They seemed to be there just because thet have to be there and its their obligation. This goes to the mediocre concierge, the unattenting Front Desk, the waiters at the Laguna Grill for breakfast, the phone "service center" , these people really need to be retrain in how to excell in service and understand the concept of "yes I can" and "how can I be of service". Obviously management of this hotel is either sleep or in vacation, this is a "culture" thing in this hotel and needs to be address inmediatly.

Other issues were obvious maintenance issues in the room, like door knobs about to fall, light bubs burned, etc. Housekeeping also has a variable procedure book, one day they would do everything right, the next they will not leave towels, bath shampoo or tea.

On the business desk, I left two FEDEX packages, was promised tracking numbers at the end of the day but now 5 days later, I still domt have the tracking numbers.

Overall, it seems to be an epidemic of bad service in this hotel, mediocre attitude and an obvious lack of supervision and management. They want to be a Four Seasons, but they have to start by hiring, training and supervising better staff. Hope they get their act together soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, Rooms Division Director at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay. We only wish your service experience had been better, although we are happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful grounds. We are truly committed to service excellence and have sent you a private message in hopes we may connect in order to learn from your experience.

Regards,
Adolfo Bolanos
Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Golfing was great. Otherwise it was just a nice hotel. Bed was hard. Food was expensive. Hard to get to ocean. Pools were just ok. I spent 4 days there and it was just okay. Nothing I could really rave about. The Bourbon Steak house was ok but very pricy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife booked a surprise get a way weekend for my birthday which turned into a extended vacation due to hurricane sandy. The staff at the turnberry was very accommodating especially the VIP coordinator Mayra and shuttle driver Mario. Extending our stay a few days was not an issue at all. The amenities are amazing from the lazy river to the beach club access and on site restaurants. The room service was very quick and tasty too. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms were HUGE. We strongly recommend taking a trip there.

John and Viorica.

Room Tip: Request orchid or jasmine for a good golf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberry-Mgmt, General Manager at Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear John & Viorica,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your recent stay. We are happy to learn you enjoyed our world-class amenities and attentive service. We have shared your comments with the team members you mentioned. We hope you made it home safely and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Management Team at Turnberry Isle Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Older elegance. Well appointed rooms and attentive staff. ( TV's and reception 1st generation Flat screen and dicey HDTV programming - Clunky and cumbersome.) Overall Very Good experience. Conference facility had a funky cheap air freshener smell pumped in. Which made you wonder what they were trying to cover up so eagerly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection

Address: 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura, FL 33180
Location: United States > Florida > Aventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Aventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its two championship golf courses designed by Raymond Floyd, Celebrity Chef Michael Mina's award-winning BOURBON STEAK restaurant, three-story Spa & Fitness Center, the elite Canas Tennis, three relaxing pools, 40,000 square feet of meetings space, Beach Club on The Atlantic, 117-slip Marina and engaging kids camps all within reach of 408 spacious guest rooms and suites. Just minutes from South Beach, Turnberry Isle Miami is located across the street from South Florida's leading shopping destination - Aventura Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry Isle Miami Hotel Aventura
Fairmont Turnberry Isle Hotel
Fairmont Aventura
Aventura Fairmont
Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection Aventura, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turnberry Isle Miami, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.