We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayport Shrimp!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singleton's Seafood Shack

Singleton's Seafood Shack
4728 Ocean St, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-2426
(904) 246-4442
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Orange Park, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mayport Shrimp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

While the address may say Atlantic Beach, Singleton'e is really in old Mayport Village, next to the Mayport Ferry Terminal. As you sit in the rustic dining room or on the deck you look out over the St John's River and the shrimp boats moored at the dock. You can't get any fresher shrimp than at Singleton's. Huge, jumbo Mayport shrimp, steamed and served with cocktail sauce - a shrimp lover's dream!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    160
    61
    18
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Everglades City, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food, service, prices !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Places like this are fewer and farther between. In the corporate/chain restaurant world that most of us live in today, this place is refreshing and comfortable. Local people work and serve here. Fish is about as fresh as a place can get. Diners,Drive-Ins......yes, this one is a Dive. But only by looks alone. Plenty of US Navy/Coast Guard folks came in to eat. We had flounder and mahi, cole slaw, black beans&rice, sweet tea.
Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great fresh seafood at an affordable price. Don't let the austere surroundings cloud your judgement.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Shack-a-licious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were looking for some fresh seafood along the Atlantic coast of Florida when we hit upon a review of this restaurant on the Food Network's website. I hotwired a room in Ponte Vedra and hit the jackpot with the Marriott Sawgrass at the Player's Club. My luck was running high! Long story short, Singleton's was one of the highlights of the Summer. The raw oysters were wonderful! The fried shrimp, fish and clam strips were fabulous! The atmosphere is.... well, shacky. The floors are uneven, the tables and chairs are rough wooden planks. It was super cool! Hope to visit again soon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I enjoy eating at local places, and this is one of the consistently good places that I never worry about taking people to. This time enjoyed weekend lunch there. I had the blackened mahi sandwich, with black beans as my side and appreciate that the prepared knows how to blackened, too many have a light hand with the seasoning, it is supposed to be heavy! My date had the fried shrimp and fries. A former commercial fisherman and shrimper, he is picky about seafood, and was quite pleased with his meal, ended up unable to finish all the shrimp!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singleton's Seafood Shack also viewed

 

Been to Singleton's Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singleton's Seafood Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.