We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Jacksonville/Beaches area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Viet

Pho Viet
1447 Mayport Road, Suite 5, Atlantic Beach, FL
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best in Jacksonville/Beaches area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a small, family-run restaurant with fresh, delicious food and friendly, efficient service. I've eaten here dozens of times for lunch/dinner and have never been disappointed. Portions are large, ingredients are fresh and flavorful, and the food always arrives hot.The seating area is small and basic, but it's clean, well-organized, and well-lit. The food here is much better than PK Noodles or Bowl of Pho; the short trek up Mayport is worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Tried this place with a friend who's lived in Vietnam and knows Pho. We both agreed this pho was bland and the noodles were chewy. The boba tea was so bad we took one drink of two different flavors and left it there. The service was very slow for a late Friday lunch. We asked to have the drinks taken off and the manager came out. She asked what was the matter with the drinks and we said that it didn't taste right and we didn't drink it. She was mad at us for asking but agreed to do it, but not before talking in Vietnamese under her breath at us. Little did she know that my blond friend also spoke it! Needless to say we won't be going back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must try it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place was a bit hidden, but my friends and I were so glad we stopped in. We stopped in for dinner on a Tuesday night. The food was incredible and prepared so quickly. The staff was minimal, but they did a great job and were very attentive. The prices were great and we would love to go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The combination plate with grilled chicken, beef and port is not to be missed. The two pieces of beef roll were stuffed with onions while the pork and chicken were marinated in a special sauce.
The plate came with a small salad, rice and a cup of soup. I also had a couple of the spring rolls with peanut sauce. That was good as well. Finally, in a bid to take home with me a little of Pho Viet, I decided to order the banh mi sandwich with chicken. Most excellent! This was probably my most unforgettable meal in a Vietnamese restaurant. Currently plotting my return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have to admit, I have been hesitating to try Pho Viet but I am so glad I finally gave in and tried it! We stopped in for a late lunch and tried the vegetable spring rolls and the Pho. I have had Pho before at another local Jacksonville place and I really enjoyed Pho Viet's much better. The vegetables tasted and looked fresh that came with the Pho and the broth and noodles were just right. The Spring rolls were delicious and the dipping sauce was very authentic tasting, which I enjoyed. The service was great and seemed to be run by a mother and son who did a nice job of over seeing each table and making sure we were taken care of. Pho Viet will be my new stop and I have already had a few other people try it who were hesitant like me!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Viet also viewed

Atlantic Beach, FL
 

Been to Pho Viet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Viet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.