We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Retro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Retro to your Saves list
The Palms Retro
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   28 Sherry Drive, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade!
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Convenient and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

About two weeks ago, we stayed here because it was quite close to those we were visiting. It met our requirements and turned out better than expected. Of the retro-themed rooms, we were in the rat pack room. Pictures of Sinatra and pals festooned the walls, and furniture/fixtures were also aligned to times. Kind of corny, but fun. While clean, there were minor signs of age in the room--two small stains below the toilet tank on the floor from an old leak; a wall lamp which did not work ( but the lack of light on that side was handled by a more than adequate floor lamp. The shower stall, fully functional, with plenty of hot water, was tiny, and shelves for toiletries were sparse, with a small wire floor stand inadequate to the task, as space between wires on the shelf surfaces were wide enough to allow items set down to fall through to the floor--minor, but annoying. Each night, a fire pit was lit to provide a welcome bit of heat and atmosphere. We had drinks in the courtyard and chatted fwith other guests before heading off to bed. It was cold at our visit, but the room heater worked, but cycled on and off frequently and noisely. There was a small refrigerator in the room, and the freezer section looked as if it haden't been looked at by houdekeeping iin a long time--partially melted and refrozen ice cubes covered the freezer area, suggesting that the thing had not been defrosted or cleaned-this is my most significant criticism, the others, being largely minor matters. The rat pack room is close to the street, and I expressed concerns about street noise. I was assured that the walls were thick and noise would not be a problem. Well, noise was not a problem, but not because I could not hear traffic--heard every car. Noise was not a problem because there was not much traffic and that noise was masked by the heater, by and large. Breakfast was included, and was pretty good for free. It was offered in one of the rooms which had been converted into a breakfast area.

The managers were pleasant and helpful. My wife left behind a pair of shoes, which they quickly mailed home to her! Thanks Wes and Cindy.

Room Tip: What looks like a corn dog is really a sausage wrapped in a pancake, which when microwaved is a brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRetro, General Manager at The Palms Retro, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you George for taking the time to write your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate your honesty in pointing out the problems you had with the room. We don't always notice so it is nice to hear the critiques. The lamp that was not working apparently had a blown transformer and has been removed. We have since made sure that all the refrigerators in the hotel have been properly defrosted and we are looking at new shelving units for each bathroom. And we will be sure to keep the breakfast corn dogs ready for when you return to Atlantic Beach! Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon at The Palms Retro. Take care and safe travels~ Wes & Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
66
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband I stayed for only one night and will definately return. The rooms are clean, fun, and comfortable. It is close to the beach and in easy walking distance to numerous restaurants. Well be back again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRetro, General Manager at The Palms Retro, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you Whitney for the review! We really appreciate the kind words and look forward to seeing you and your husband again soon...hopefully for a longer stay next time! Take care and safe travels~ Wes & Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We've stayed here with family several times and cannot wait to return. The themed rooms are fun and clean. Very comfortable! And relaxing in the courtyard is a favorite pastime for us. Walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and stores. There isn't a better place to stay in Atlantic Beach and there aren't better property managers than Wes and Cindy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABhotelman, General Manager at The Palms Retro, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you very much for the nice review!! We always look forward to seeing you guys enjoying the courtyard and can't wait to see you all again soon! Y'all take care of yourselves and safe travels!! ~Wes & Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here for two days with my boyfriend. This hotel made our mini vacation. This place is so unique and classy. I'm never going to stay anywhere else. We had no issues whatsoever. This place is super clean and relaxing. Walking distance from the beach, local resteraunts and a walgreens. Make a reservation now! You won't regret it. I give The Retro Palms Hotel 100 stars:)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRetro, General Manager at The Palms Retro, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
100 stars?!? Wow, thank you so much Rachel!! We are so happy that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will book again soon. Maybe next time instead of a mini vacation it will be a full vacation! :) Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again at The Palms Retro! Take care~ Cindy & Wes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife & I checked into this GEM of a hotel, while I was in town for a Navy reunion. I'm glad I didn't stay at the reunion hotel, and stayed here instead.The place has THEMED rooms, the rooms were cozy, only 2 blocks to the beach, in a very safe neighborhood. McDonalds & shopping just outside the door. Full breakfast every morning onsite. The ONLY drawback, was the toilet, being close to the wall, I'm a big guy what can I say? Staff went out of their way, to ensure the guests were happy.

Room Tip: The whole hotel is AWESOME, inside & out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRetro, General Manager at The Palms Retro, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
It was so fun to meet you Robert & Juanita! We really enjoyed having you here and appreciate the kind words. We hope that you come visit us again sooner than later...perhaps a Redskins game in the courtyard?? We had a lot of fun and glad you did too. Take care and safe travels~ Wes & Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A little gem by the ocean. We have been vacationing to Atlantic/Neptune Beach for years, but just this year discovered the Palms Retro. An extremely pleasurable and comfortable stay. Our second visit this year and in a different themed room. Very cool and the bed was awesome!
Thank you Wes & Cindy! See you soon!
Stuart&Tana

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRetro, General Manager at The Palms Retro, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you Stuart & Tana! It was so good to see you both again and we are stoked that you found us and keep coming back! Always fun to see you here. We really appreciate you taking the time to submit a review and look forward to seeing you out in the courtyard again soon. Take care~ Wes & Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We tried a different room this time and LOVED it as always. We look forward to seeing the new addition when we go back next year. CONGRATS! Thanks for a wonderful weekend, we needed it. We love that you are so close to the beach and eateries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRetro, General Manager at The Palms Retro, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you Shelley!! We are so very happy that you continue to choose The Palms Retro as your vacation destination...we love seeing you guys and catching up with you over coffee and breakfast in The Times. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us again...we really appreciate the repeat visits and your kind words. Can't wait 'til next year!! New additions, indeed!! Until then, be safe and happy days~ Cindy & Wes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Retro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Retro

Address: 28 Sherry Drive, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palms Retro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick off your loafers and climb into bed with Marilyn Monroe. Loosen your tie and sip a few with Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr. and Dean Martin in the Rat Pack Room. Get your attitude on with James Dean and Marlon Brando in the Bad Boys Room, or enjoy the vibes of B.B. King, Ray Charles and Charley Parker in The Cool. Two blocks from the beach and within walking distance of 20+ restaurants (seven of which offer live entertainment), travelers can park their car for the night and enjoy the unique attributes of Town Center (or “The Corner” as locals refer to it). We also rent bicycles that guests can use to cruise the beach or one of our charming neighborhoods. A stay at the Palms Retro includes a complimentary continental breakfast, free viewing of fifties era DVDs, free wireless Internet access and, of course, a room with some of the most coveted celebrities of the fifties; Lucille Ball, Barney Fife , John Wayne, James Dean, Elvis, Marilyn, The Rat Pack and others. How cool is that? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palms Retro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Retro Hotel Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Retro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.