We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People, Cool Rooms, Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Retro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms Retro to your Saves list
The Palms Retro
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   28 Sherry Drive, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday King package!!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
“Great People, Cool Rooms, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I rented the whole hotel for our visiting family during the weekend of our wedding. The staff at Palms Retro were great from start to finish. They worked with us prior to our family arriving to make sure all the arrangements were in order and that everyone would be pleased with the room they had. We held our reception in the beautiful garden area of the hotel and during that time the staff continued to ensure the guests and especially my wife was taken care. They went above and beyond in thier service to us, actively participating in the decorating, handling of last minute details, and entertaining the guests. They give a quality of service that is rarely seen in this day and age, for that alone you should consider this place, but if you need more just look at the themed rooms and you will have your icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Each room is themed from "Diva" to "Legends." The Diva room has the best bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    25
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
69
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

What a great place for a quick getaway! Living less than an hour away, my boyfriend and I have frequented Jacksonville/Atlantic Beach before. We had never heard of the Palms Retro before our overnight trip in the end of August. I surprised him for his birthday by "kidnapping" him and bringing him here. He's a musician, so the Rock N' Roller Room was PERFECT! This hotel has every little detail, is clean, and the staff friendly. Upon check-in (that only took 3 minutes!), we were personally escorted to our room and asked if it met our needs. The courtyard was great for a glass of wine and conversation. Perfectly situated within walking distance to downtown Atlantic Beach's great restaurants and bars, we couldn't have asked for a better stay. Thanks for making it so special!

Room Tip: Each room is themed differently - but they're all great! If it's a girl's trip - call th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was in the area on business, and typically stay at places like Hampton Inn, Courtyard, etc. The Palms Retro has only 10 rooms surrounding a courtyard. My room was spacious and very clean (I am a former hotel manager and know a clean room when I see it). The wireless internet worked perfectly. The location is very convenient with the beach and restaurants within a quick walk. The only (slightly) negative thing I can say is the bathrooms are a little small, but again...they are clean! Most important, I had interactions with both the on-site manager as well as the owners, and simply put, they know hospitality and how to make guests feel welcome. If you'd like to try a place a little different than the norm, and feel a little special, I suggest you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The room was adorable, very clean as well. The themed rooms are a great concept. We used to live just a block from here and we remember when this place was run down and dingy... they have done a fabulous job on the remodel. Employees were very kind and helpful, not to mention you are two blocks from the beach!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

we stayed here for 4 nites on a house hunting trip in July. Our first nite, the first room had a sewerage smell and the owners moved us to the Rock and Roller Room. They also comp'd that nite and were very apologetic. No excuses from them, just "Oh yes, I smell it ,too ! and we will move you immediately" Can 't ask for more. We appreciated that so much.
That said- the rest of the stay was good enough. The rooms are LARGE with two full or queen sized beds ( can't remember) but could have 2 kings and plenty of room for 3 surf boards and luggage.They have a fridge,microwave, coffee maker. The bathrooms are not large but big enough with one sink and a shower - no tub ( for those with little ones). They also need to put up more hooks or towel racks. The AC was LOUD, however and turned off and on as needed. So it woke us up a lot.
The breakfast room has plenty to snack on in the morning. It is NOT a continental like you might get at Hampton or other chain but it is good enough.

Would I stay here again- probably not, but it was clean and pleasant enough. AND - a short walk to the beach, shops, food, etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Located just a couple of blocks from the beach and even closer to a cluster of great restaurants this "retro" property was super clean and so unique! My husband and I checked in with our three young children and were greeted by the managers as if we were visiting family. Each room is unique but all face out onto a beautiful courtyard perfect for enjoying morning coffee or an evening glass of wine. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when we visit Jacksonville in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsRetro, General Manager at The Palms Retro, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
We so enjoyed having you and your sweet family here with us. We're glad you were able to unwind and relax. We'll see you real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Enjoyed our spring trip at The Palms again. The hotel is located next to a major road, which traffic is heard throughout the afternoons and mornings. If you want ocean waves, this is not the place to stay. Still was clean, employees helpful, and beds are comfortable. The owners were on the premises on and off, which both seemed to be very nice. But, seemed sort of annoyed by being there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms Retro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Retro

Address: 28 Sherry Drive, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palms Retro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick off your loafers and climb into bed with Marilyn Monroe. Loosen your tie and sip a few with Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr. and Dean Martin in the Rat Pack Room. Get your attitude on with James Dean and Marlon Brando in the Bad Boys Room, or enjoy the vibes of B.B. King, Ray Charles and Charley Parker in The Cool. Two blocks from the beach and within walking distance of 20+ restaurants (seven of which offer live entertainment), travelers can park their car for the night and enjoy the unique attributes of Town Center (or “The Corner” as locals refer to it). We also rent bicycles that guests can use to cruise the beach or one of our charming neighborhoods. A stay at the Palms Retro includes a complimentary continental breakfast, free viewing of fifties era DVDs, free wireless Internet access and, of course, a room with some of the most coveted celebrities of the fifties; Lucille Ball, Barney Fife , John Wayne, James Dean, Elvis, Marilyn, The Rat Pack and others. How cool is that? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Palms Retro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Retro Hotel Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Retro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.