We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of M Shack

M Shack
299 Atlantic Blvd, Atlantic Beach, FL
904-241-2599
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

They have great burgers and grill cheese. They decided to switch up the menu and it got better. The fish sandwich is out of this world. Don't forget to get fries with that. The milkshakes they have are the best in town by far

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A burger place a vegetarian can love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The MShack veggie burger is the best I have ever had! House-made, no frozen patty here. Sweet potato tots are outstanding and the shakes are so delicious! We head there as a family and always bring our out-of-town guests. The meat-eaters in the family love the taste and size of the burger. It is not overdone as most of the ridiculous oversized entrees are at most restaurants. A definite fun, casual place to get an amazing bite to eat!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great burgers and shakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Can't understand the negative comments. The burgers are tasty and fresh. I had the Medurable - burger topped with a delicious foie gras and carmelized onions- my husband had the Sunrise burger. Both were outstanding. On another occasion we had the sausage burger and a double bacon-cheeseburger. Also outstanding. The shakes are flavorful. We will keep going back anytime we are in the mood for a good burger.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Burger - In the Building”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stopped by M Shack in Atlantic Beach, Florida for a burger. Thought it was fast food. Turned out to be very slow food, very cold service, and prices that are puzzling for very mediocre food. This joint is billed as gourmet burgers. What you get is gourmet prices and burgers that really are no challenge to McD's. The French Fries are billed as special. The bill was special. The fries were not. The delivered our order after30 minutes. Problem was it was not our order. The got the problem worked out after another 10. Forty minutes for a burger?

The place has a open presentation style kitchen. I saw something in that kitchen I will long remember. A young woman with long blond hair, bent over, flipped her hair forward and tied it into a pony tail. The problem was she did this in the open kitchen with here latex (food handling) gloves on. Having some familiarity with sanitation procedures, that move would have gotten the kitchen closed had a health department official been present.

Did I mention that the place is extremely loud. Lots of children in arms.

Bottom line - "Don't Come Back Here Yankee!" And if you do, bring lots of cash.

Just another disappointing meal on the Beaches of Jacksonville.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsqd50
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

I was looking forward to a good local burger, but I was very disappointed. The pretentious "signature" fries were nothing but bad frozen ones and the burger was on the skinny side. There are better burgers and fries at the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Shack also viewed

 

Been to M Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.