We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good casual dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poe's Tavern

Poe's Tavern
363 Atlantic Blvd, Ste 1, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233
904.241.7637
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We came for a simple supper at the end of a business trip. We were group of five, which included some vegetarians, and everyone was able to find a good variety of selections. The menu was mainly burgers, but each came in a traditional beef, a chicken, or a veggie burger option. Our server was pleasant and efficient, and the food was as expected.
I would recommend for a casual meal in a fun atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    92
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Yummy food and very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I heard from friends that this was a good place to go, so we decided to try it for lunch this weekend. I ordered a salad with grilled chicken and my husband ordered a chicken sandwich with fries. Both were really delicious and well prepared, The only issue I had was in sitting outside and the constant dive bombing by the birds. The waitress was friendly and the service was good. We both really enjoyed it and will go back again again. Next time we are going to try the burgers. They looked fabulous !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I wanted to stop here just because I'm a fan of Edgar A. An open air covered patio protected us from the rain, but still gave us an eating-outside feeling. The burgers are very excellent and my connoisseur girlfriend rated hers as tops for the Jacksonville area. Very juicy, be sure to get extra napkins in advance. We liked the place and will return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere but the food is just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Went here with some friends from work and was really excited to try it out. I really liked the big open front doors that gave the restaurant a very casual feeling. The service was friendly but I was slightly disappointed with my hamburger. Not very tasty or juicy. Fries where eh, not crispy. Would I go back and give them a second try? Sure. But if I want a burger I know is going to be fantastic I'll head over to MShack. One minor thing - the a/c vents on the ceiling drip water on your head, food, table, or whatever is under them nonstop. I know we're in Florida by the beach but it gets annoying.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cool place and good drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Service was a little slow but it was very busy. Had the tuna tacos and the nachos were great! Very casual place with a nice atmosphere!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poe's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Poe's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poe's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.