We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant

Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant
4378 Ocean St, Unit 3, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-2454
904-246-4911
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Orland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Simple and good seafood. Went for lunch with my son and grandson. Order at the counter and seat yourself. Having a one year old with you can sometimes be trying on us old folks. But, all the staff kept him fully entertained during our stay. He loved the hush puppies! All the food was great!
Will make it a point to visit again on my next visit to Jacksonville.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    65
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Straight from the boat seafood with daily specials and market.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wholesale seafood market with a local hidden secret, the restaurant that offers daily specials like shrimp and grit cakes! Amazing clam chowder, fresh catch blackened, fried, grilled. Of course the best Mayport Shrimp! Seat yourself no frills, order at the counter and find a seat. Worth the wait...very busy at lunchtime! Plus you get to watch the ship come into the docks. Kids love it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good seafood place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

As others have stated the food here is darn good and althought it's my first time i'd bet it's pretty consistent day in/ day out just observing the way they run their restaurant side and market side. Ate around 3 on a Sunday and the line was almost out the door to order at the counter (grab a table inside or out and they bring it to you after ordering) but it moved fairly quickly. Had the fried shrimp basket and wife had the fried haddock basket (fries, pups, slaw). Had way better hushpuppies elsewhere and slaw was average but the seafood was solid. At around $11 each the prices are fair. Sounds weird maybe but wish they had better ketchup (they use the cheap generic) and cocktail sauce (ask for horseradish). Seafood Market side was very impressive and if i lived in the area i'd shop there. I'll probably try other places in the area next time to see what's around but i'd certainly go back again or recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good food, great fish market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We make the drive to Safe Harbor for all of our seafood purchases, they have the best selection, and of course the freshest Mayport shrimp you can get (many of the shrimpers dock right behind them). The restaurant is fast and delicious, and packed every day at lunchtime.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have been here twice with family picking up seafood to cook. Go to spot for fresh seafood in Mayport. The two of us stopped here to eat in and both had blackened shrimp (nachos and po' boy). SO Good!!! Fresh, hot, and oh so tasty! Sitting on the deck, drinking a beer, watching the water and eating fresh seafood. Only problem was the fact that it was so busy because we were not the only ones looking for a super good meal...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.