We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant
4378 Ocean St, Unit 3, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233-2454
904-246-4911
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Bermuda Run, NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We were in Mayport last year and ate at Singletons based on D D D review. Was a miss for Guy. Safe Harbor was closed. This year we went from Little Talbot via the long way as the ferry was broken. The fish market is one of the best we have ever visited. My wife had the blackened scallop basket, cooked to perfection. Her first taste resulted in the YUM! I had the fried shrimp basket, breading was light, shrimp were large and perfectly cooked. Restaurant might be a dive but is a treasure. We will be returning several more times there are so many more choices to taste,

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    57
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southcentral Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best fried clams!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Glad we read the reviews so we knew what to expect! This is a place we will return to visit, but it's off the beaten path! Bill loves clams and I'm a shrimp eater-both were great and we both loved the cole slaw! We went here after our walk on Little Talbot and Kingsley Plantation tour-but the ferry was closed so we had a long drive there-but it was worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesup, Georgia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My family and I recently dined here on a trip to Jacksonville. Don't be fooled by the outside - it looks like only a seafood market - there is a restaurant in the back. You order under the sign at the back and they bring the food to you. There are a few tables inside, but more outside on the glassed in porch. We all had the fried shrimp. They were delicious! Nothing fancy, just good fried shrimp. We also bought some shrimp to bring home with us. The market is worth going to as well. They had lots of fish and shellfish. They also had lots of items that were prepared, but you cook at home. I wish I lived closer to this place. I would eat from here - either from the market or the restaurant every night.
A word of caution - they close at 6:00 pm, so go for lunch or early dinner. We got there about 5:00 and saw a cruise ship go by as a bonus :).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

You can't wrong with Safe Harbor. There is nothing fancy about the place, it's a seafood market that cooks good food. The Mayport shrimp are fresh, the smoked dip is great and sitting outside on the water just adds to the pleasure of a good meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“OMG. Seafood gets no fresher!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

TA comes through again. We live in JAX and were looking for a new spot for lunch. This end of the road spot in Mayport was perfect. You order at the counter, right beside where they are selling fresh seafood that just came off the boats in the back. Dining is outside on St. John's river where it meets the Atlantic. We had NASA, group and steamed oysters and a couple of beers. $40 total. It's casual, scenic and food is very fresh!

A+

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant also viewed

 
Atlantic Beach, FL
 

Been to Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safe Harbor Seafood Market & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.