We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a terrific beach resort with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Ocean Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added One Ocean Resort & Spa to your Saves list
One Ocean Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ocean Boulevard, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates Starting at $199
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“This is a terrific beach resort with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Now, understand that One Ocean is working with a very old building to start with, which means just one main bank of elevators and some serious wait times, but honestly, that's the only nit - and barely a nit as it was fun to sort of chat up other guests and be social during the times we waiting for elevators - I can even think of. Every one of the staff we ran into - from the front desk to the restaurant to the pool to the early-morning cleaning crew folks I ran into when my toddler decided to wake up at 4:40 a.m. and I took him out of the room to spare my wife - were just really nice. Extra kudos to Hugh the bartender, who not only poured a beautiful gin cocktail but was super friendly and really actually ran a lively bar, engaging people, chatting folks up - he's the kind of guy you just want to hang with. I though the rooms were terrific for the somewhat modest size, the bed was really great, the bathroom small-ish but very functional and the cleaning staff terrific, even if it wasn't entirely clear who got turndown service and when - I'm not sure it ever is at a resort. We were there July 4 and while the place was fully booked it never felt too busy and the pool/beach areas weren't crowded. We were lucky enough to have a 5th floor south-facing room that provided a great view of a series of fireworks shows that our boy was enraptured by (boom! he kept saying) and if you've got kids I think this is a terrific choice. The restaurants within walking distance were solid and even brilliant (North Shore Fish Camp - that's some good eating.) and there's lots to see and do within a couple of blocks. In short, this is a perfect-sized place to get some beach time in and the staff there was brilliant. We're figuring out when we can get back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
First let us start by saying thank you for choosing One Ocean as your 4th of July vacation spot. We are delighted to know that our associates were able to provide you and your family with a personalized, memorable stay and that you were able to enjoy a view of the fireworks from your accommodations. We to see you again when your travels bring you back to Atlantic Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    129
    53
    24
    27
See reviews for
115
241
31
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night at One Ocean. Nice room, comfortable bed, and attentive service. When we got the bill in the AM, we were charged a $25 resort fee and $20 for (non-optional) parking fee. A sour note to end a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you, Aporiatwo, for choosing to stay at One Ocean. Thank you for your kind words about your accommodations and the service our associates provided. Our pre-arrival communications outline the resort and valet fees, and we will review their placement to ensure that our messaging is clear and that all guests are made aware of these costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a beautiful resort. All the staff were super nice and helpful. Free snacks and water (and soda if that's your thing) and morning coffee & tea was really nice. Free wi-fi too. Room service was delicious. Next time I would spring for an ocean view room with balcony. Also the location is great because you can easily access the beach in less than a minute and there are lots of little shops and restaurants all in walking distance so you don't have to leave the property the whole stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear UrbanMountainGoat, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at One Ocean. Thank you for your kind words about both our resort and the Atlantic Beach area. We hope you'll choose to enjoy an ocean view room with balcony during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I enjoy staying in nice places when I travel, preferring a bit of pampering to the ordinary. One Ocean provided the most pampering I have ever enjoyed on a trip! The staff was stupendous! Every request was treated as if it were the most important task on earth. The "one button" service covered everything from providing ice to stocking the room with my preferences for drinks and snacks. Valet parking for the guests and guests of guests was a lovely touch. The decor was particularly enchanting, unique sea-related glass artistry. The bartenders covered both the inside and beachside tables. The room was beautifully appointed, tranquil, and relaxing. It was an extraordinarily perfect stay!

Room Tip: I did not make use of the spa or breakfast, so I cannot comment on those items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Patricia P, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed several aspects of the One Ocean experience during your recent visit, including our "one button" service. We urge you to enjoy a treatment at The Spa at One Ocean or a meal at Azurea when your travels bring you back to One Ocean Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and the service was amazing. We felt like VIP's everywhere we went in the hotel. We stayed in a corner balcony room which was worth the extra money. The bathroom in our room was really, really small - I would say this is my only complaint!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you, Jackieze, for your kind words about our resort. We are delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable stay and that you were able to enjoy one of our corner balcony rooms. Thanks to a tremendous renovation from the previous hotel 5 years ago, One Ocean Resort & Spa was created. Because of some limitations with the original structure, several aspects of the resort's layout had to remain as they were, such as our bathroom sizes. We were able to compensate with luxurious features such as luxurious toiletries and room accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

A very nice hotel on the beach. The fitness center was excellent. Compared to major resorts this was below average. While service was very good, the amenities were average at best (for a resort). Prices however, were consistent with a "resort" label. I would not stay here as a destination in itself, but perhaps if you were in town anyway. We had one bad night (in 5) with very loud drunken guests in the halls from 2-3 am. Valet parking is mandatory. Resort fee includes unhealthy packaged snacks, soda and water.

Room Tip: Valet parking is mandatory. Resort fee includes unhealthy packaged snacks, soda and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you, FloridaFamilyofFive, for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay at One Ocean. We always value the feedback of our resort guests, and are sorry to hear that your One Ocean experience was not completely satisfactory. During your next stay, please take advantage of our One Ocean Docents, who stock in-room amenity cabinets and are glad to provide alternate snacks and beverages of your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent 5 days at One Ocean and enjoyed each and every minute. From the time we arrived our every need was met by the friendly, professional staff. Our ocean front room was beautiful. Other reviews commented on the bathrooms being small, but we found it to be adequate for our use. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony each evening looking out over the ocean. Spent several evenings at the lobby bar with Hugh and his creative cocktails. The Snicker martini was the perfect dessert one night. The staff also recommended many excellent restaurants and we enjoyed wandering through the town center and walking on the beach. The Lemon Bar next door was also a fun Happy Hour spot. The complimentary water and snacks were a great touch. Overall, we're happy we chose One Ocean for our vacation this year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SileshiMengiste, General Manager at One Ocean Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you, Mrssdon, for selecting One Ocean Resort & Spa as your vacation spot. We are delighted to hear that you found everything to your liking, from our resort family and room accommodations to the lobby bar and surrounding picturesque Atlantic Beach. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Atlantic Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to One Ocean Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Ocean Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Ocean Boulevard, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — One Ocean Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Oceanfront splendor with luxury accommodations and intuitive service at our Florida vacation resort. The artful getaway is situated on the sweeping white sands and rolling waves of the Atlantic Ocean in Atlantic Beach, minutes from Jacksonville. The luxury oceanfront resort luring guests in with its cobblestone streets featuring an eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, art galleries, ice-cream parlors and nightlife options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your One Ocean Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Ocean Hotel Atlantic Beach
1 Ocean Resort
One Ocean Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Ocean Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.