We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property - But worth trying - had a great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel

Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel to your Saves list
Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1575 W. State Road 40, Astor, FL 32102-7903   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Astor
DeLand, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Older property - But worth trying - had a great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This older motel is refurbished and has apts with full kitchens. Located directly on th st johns river a complimentary boat slip is included. The fabulousa Castaways restaurant is located right next door. We love this place and will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Professional mariner with over 300K miles on the water over the past 13 years. We have traveled from Mane to Texas, most inland rivers and canal systems and even through the Panama Canal.
We have NEVER had dock hands refuse to take a line or help in anyway until we pulled in here for dingy fuel. They cited insurance rules and were just plain RUDE. The female dock hand was noticeably rude and nasty! Give your business to more deserving and friendly businesses in the area. AVOID THIS PLACE!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

What can i say about this establishement i 'll try to be nice.

I booked a room at this hotel a long time before the 2013 Daytona 500.
i boked the room on expedia in August 2012.

Upon arriving a this location after a long day at universal studio's on Febuary 23 rd 2013 i was first told i was at the wrong place... i then took out my reservation confirmation and was then told by the owner that the reservation was cancelled three days before by Expedia.

I called Expedia from the restaurant and they denied cancelling the room but they ended up putting me in a $350 a night King jacuzzi room in the Ormond Beach LaQuinta free of charge.
They refunded my $112 that i paid for this location + $25 for gas .

So thank's for nothing Astor bridge marina Hotel i ended up really appreciating this ordeal and i got to see a fan boat in action ... Dont count on me to return however i had my lesson.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Amazing views an location rooms very good nicely decorated an recently decorated , didnt meet lady who runs it but men all very helpful even though we showed up late in the evening with no reservation - you can hire a boat daily which is very worth doing will hopefully return for another night before going home - there are two bars closeby serving food the one next door is back in the sixties for decor an food served in the downstairs restaurant but the upstairs bar is good an food better- across the bridge is another bar where food an service ok

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casselberry, fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My first time here, and totally enjoyed- the staff was awsome, anything you need. This place has a true Florida history feel, the units are SUPER clean with full kitchens, not updated at all- why change and update so nice the way it is. Apparently the river was used for steamboat sugar cane and orange transport back in the 40's. We stayed in the motel units with picnic tables and grills right out front and found it very comfy with seperate bedroom and a living room + TV. Wireless is available for your FB needs. BTW on the weekends the restaurant is rocking- dance on the river, and try the frog legs. A true place to relax and great boat access! Don't expect luxury, just a good safe time! A+A++

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the office are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The food was very good - we ended up eating lunch while out fishing and then went back for dinner. The porterhouse steak that a friend ordered at dinner looked absolutely delicious and he verified that. We had shrimp/scallops but the breading was too heavy. Another couple ordered the broiled platter and said it was extremely good. The oysters that another couple got were hard and inedible. At lunch the club sandwich was excellent. They have homemade fries which are quite good. Didn't have any experience with the marina folks. If you go to Castaways for dinner and want to enjoy a quiet, enjoyable meal - go early!! The drunks start coming in about 9-9:30 and the noise level is unbearable with all of the yelling and cursing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

I drive from ocala to eat dinner at castaways restaurant quit fequiently! Love the food n service there! On the other hand the manager at the motel is to very rude n also lied n said she owned the place! A person like her can drive the business down very quick!!! She was rude n I will never go back to rent a room it to the restaurant ever again!!! I'm also in customer survise n will make sure Noone I know will make the drive to b treated the way I was!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel

Address: 1575 W. State Road 40, Astor, FL 32102-7903
Location: United States > Florida > Astor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Astor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.