We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canoeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wekiwa Springs State Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apopka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wekiwa Springs State Park
Save
You added Wekiwa Springs State Park to your Saves list
1800 Wekiwa Circle, Apopka, FL 32712   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Canoeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wekiwa springs is a beautiful place! Rented a canoe and paddled down the peaceful river. Saw tons of wildlife and very few people which was a plus! The water was crystal clear and beautiful. They had a cute nature center with very informative staff on the species in or around the state park. Also had hiking trails, camping an picnic areas. I will definitely be coming back again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
142 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We liked it a lot! Springs were just amazing: pristine cristal clear waters to swim; then, the marvelous river where you can go canoeing...! Unfortunately, we did not have the time for the canoe but, we won't miss it next time. Seeing just the beautiful surroundings at the beginning of the river, we really regretted not having had the time. We saw a deer the night we arrived and, of course, several squirrels all around during our stay. Conveniently located 30-40 minutes from Orlando, we even had the chance to go to Downtown Disney to dine with some friends. Can't ask for more! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Watch out for the unobtrusive entrance, but once in you will find good access to the park.

If unadventurous then after a cooling paddle in the main spring, go over and hire the 4 man paddle boat for a scoot around the feeder pool for the river, you can see alligators, turtles, gar fish, locust, butterflies and so much that its difficult to mention all. We also saw Deer near visitor centre

After that pool trip I finished it off with one of the reasonably priced gift shop fruit lollies, they are like frozen fruit bars that really hit the spot.

this should be added to your bucket lists

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Camped for two nights at the campground. Complete hookups; water, electric and sewage. Wooded sites. The spring is large and very nice and has a lot of families that visit the park to swim. There is a large grass area around the spring for sunning, picnicking etc. Kayak/canoe rentals are available and the trip on the river is very pretty and quiet. There is a major grocery store and gas stations located a short distance outside of the park's entrance. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you like nature and green, this would be a great park.... Don't miss the kayak it is amazing. The water is clear and pretty warm. We went for couple hours and so much fun.... Wish we could spend a night but had to head back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Found this park on our last morning in Florida, and what a shame because we could quite easily have spent a full day there, rather than the two hours we had before heading to the airport. There are lots of walks, boardwalks and paths through this wild little landscape. So much nature to see and experience. There are camp grounds aswell but we didn't have time to check them out. There is a small lake, safe for swimming which is incredibly clear and beautiful, and there is another wilder lake that you you can take a canoe or a kayak out on for a reasonable rate, which if we had had more time we would have done. Great for wildlife lovers and photographers. The entry to the park is $6 per car, which is so cheap. The park is in a beautiful area aswell. Have nothing negative to say. Wonderful place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed three nights at the campground. The first full day there, my $50 hammock was stolen from our campsite while we were away kayaking. The second night, our neighbors partied until 2 AM, despite a request that they honor the 11 to 7 quiet time rule. The rangers were unconcerned about the theft and did not patrol the campground in the evening even after being informed about the noise. They said thery would send someone at 8:30 PM to inform everyone of the quiet time rule after the noisy night, but no-one ever showed up. It's a nice campground -shady and clean, but bring earplugs and don't leave anything in plain sight that isn't nailed down or locked up. We even started locking our kayaks to our vehicles at night after the theft, and we've never felt the need to do that at other state parks. This park is not out in the country - it's adjacent to and within sight of city neighborhoods, so it has the traffic noise and problems of the city. It might not be as safe as one would like.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apopka
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando-Apopka
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando-Apopka
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 5 in Apopka
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Orlando-North/Altamonte Springs
Hampton Inn & Suites - Orlando-N...
#1 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Altamonte Springs
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlan...
#2 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Orlando Altamonte Springs
Residence Inn Orlando Altamonte ...
#4 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wekiwa Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wekiwa Springs State Park

Address: 1800 Wekiwa Circle, Apopka, FL 32712
Location: United States > Florida > Apopka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Apopka
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Wekiwa Springs State Park Hotel Apopka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wekiwa Springs State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.