We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ, Not the Best ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
2210 East Semoran Boulevard, Apopka, FL 32703 (Formerly Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q)
+1 407-814-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 105 Restaurants in Apopka
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Altoona, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Not the Best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I like eating at Sonny's. It is always reliable. If you are at the Apopka store ask for Claudia. She is awesome. I always get a Big Deal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank your for the review AlanJ6! We're glad to hear you enjoy dining with us, especially with Claudia's great service. If you have any suggestions, we'd love to hear from you. Email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with any details you'd like to share. We appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok for Fast food BBQ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I say fast food because I think they rush the cooking too much-pulled pork should be moist and NOT need sauce.The brisket was the same.Ribs I have have not been consistent.I limit my visits to one a month if that.I seem to get indigestion when i go,maybe olein oil for the fries?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good beans, good slaw, pork is OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just like every other Sonny's in the chain. Large servings, quick service, reasonable prices. The second best BBQ place in Apopka.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
to far from the mouse
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always go here when on vacation in Florida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We LOVE Sonny's! When we are on vacation in Florida, we always stop in to the Sonny's in Apopka. It's great because we still see the same servers that have been there for years! The food comes our fast and is fantastic. We love the extra large drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Inconsistent service, food, and pricing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I live near this Sonny's but you never know if your going to get good, service or food. If you want to brulee sure to leave satisfied don't go here. But if your up for a surprise try here bc when it's good, its great food/service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.