We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gibson Inn
Save
You added Gibson Inn to your Saves list
51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

In addition to all the excellent reviews about this great Inn, the restaurant is outstanding. Very nice menu and service, tending towards upscale. You can order more pub fare and also from the dining room menu if you prefer a more casual dine at the bar. And look for the house cat, a real purry creature.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    55
    15
    14
    13
See reviews for
24
102
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Demorest, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I have been going to Apalachicola for almost 20 years and always stay at the Gibson Inn and always get the same room. We love the charm of the place, love sitting on the porch after dinner. Woue stay as anywhere else.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Loved a lot of what the Gibson Inn had to offer. The staff was friendly and the room was nice. We did not eat at the bar or the restaraunt but everything else was nice. I do however think some things could be improved. Wifi was awful. It needed to be stronger. Bathrooms are nice but a curved shower curtain rod would make the showers better, and water pressure was low. Would we go back? Yes!

Room Tip: Room 304 was nice a cozy. Thin walls though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

On a recent road trip we booked in for one night - on arrival the staff were friendly and welcoming. The older pieces of furniture dotted about help retain the charm of this historic bed & breakfast and the lobby genuinely reflects the image of an old country house of the Victorian era.
Our bedroom was not very big (Which cannot be helped due to the age of the hotel and did not cause us any problems). Our bathroom was quite dated and in need of a little maintenance! Amongst other things the shower head was hanging off the wall which we reported to maintenance The free continental breakfast was very basic not the usual and they do not have butter! I would recommend a drink in the bar in the evening as you get to meet some interesting folk, the bar food was good and the Bar lady was lovely. Apalachicola was a wonderful place to visit with its laid back attitude, quaint shops, good restaurants and seaside atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantia, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Inn transports one back to a gracious Victorian era. There are beautiful wood finishes, spacious rooms and quality bathrooms. We loved Apalachicola, especially the abundance of oysters and its old world laid back charm. It's unspoiled, we saw dolphins and pelicans in the bay, and enjoyed the museum devoted to Dr John Gorrie who discovered the process of Refridgeration

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our tenth year staying at the Gibson Inn. My favorite thing about it is the vibe. It's not fancy but it's got amazing Victorian sea-town character. This place is laid back in an authentic way that reflects the old-Florida culture of the town itself. The innkeeper Sharon is a total pro and so nice. The housekeeping staff is super, duper great - the rooms are sparkling clean (not easy to do with 100+year-old rooms) and they are so helpful. The Inn is supposedly haunted by a sea captain that died on the third floor. Ask a housekeeper to show you the room if it's empty. Their star bartender, the multi-talented Betsy (local author, jewelry artisan and darned fine cocktail-maker) will tell you some stories about Apalach - she wrote a book on it! Her dry martini is perfect and my boyfriend loves her Gibson Breeze (their special tropical cocktail). There are a few rooms that are dog-friendly (with exterior entrances) and the staff is *super* dog-friendly. Dogs can stop by the "doggy drive-through" window on the first floor patio for a treat. Some of the rooms have been recently renovated but we like any room with a window at the Gibson (take a look at the floor plan on the website to choose your perfect room). We love to barnstorm down from Nashville for two or three nights, sit on the second floor wraparound porch in a rocker, drink cocktails and watch Apalach go by. Great restaurants and waterfront in easy walking distance. St. George Island is a beautiful beach about a 15-minute drive. The Inn has beach towels, kept in baskets in the hallway, for you to borrow. Gibson Inn, we will daydream of a quick return. Thank you for keeping it real.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been recently renovated but we like any room with a window at the Gibson (tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

A very nice room with a four poster bed in a funky town in the panhandle. It was somewhat expensive.Traveling alone, the romantic aspects of the room were wasted on me. There are some good restaurants in town. Spent the night there and explored the town the next morning. Lots of history there from when cotton was king.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.