We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic old world quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gibson Inn to your Saves list
Gibson Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Constantia, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic old world quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Inn transports one back to a gracious Victorian era. There are beautiful wood finishes, spacious rooms and quality bathrooms. We loved Apalachicola, especially the abundance of oysters and its old world laid back charm. It's unspoiled, we saw dolphins and pelicans in the bay, and enjoyed the museum devoted to Dr John Gorrie who discovered the process of Refridgeration

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    65
    22
    15
    13
See reviews for
28
124
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
178 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our tenth year staying at the Gibson Inn. My favorite thing about it is the vibe. It's not fancy but it's got amazing Victorian sea-town character. This place is laid back in an authentic way that reflects the old-Florida culture of the town itself. The innkeeper Sharon is a total pro and so nice. The housekeeping staff is super, duper great - the rooms are sparkling clean (not easy to do with 100+year-old rooms) and they are so helpful. The Inn is supposedly haunted by a sea captain that died on the third floor. Ask a housekeeper to show you the room if it's empty. Their star bartender, the multi-talented Betsy (local author, jewelry artisan and darned fine cocktail-maker) will tell you some stories about Apalach - she wrote a book on it! Her dry martini is perfect and my boyfriend loves her Gibson Breeze (their special tropical cocktail). There are a few rooms that are dog-friendly (with exterior entrances) and the staff is *super* dog-friendly. Dogs can stop by the "doggy drive-through" window on the first floor patio for a treat. Some of the rooms have been recently renovated but we like any room with a window at the Gibson (take a look at the floor plan on the website to choose your perfect room). We love to barnstorm down from Nashville for two or three nights, sit on the second floor wraparound porch in a rocker, drink cocktails and watch Apalach go by. Great restaurants and waterfront in easy walking distance. St. George Island is a beautiful beach about a 15-minute drive. The Inn has beach towels, kept in baskets in the hallway, for you to borrow. Gibson Inn, we will daydream of a quick return. Thank you for keeping it real.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been recently renovated but we like any room with a window at the Gibson (tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

A very nice room with a four poster bed in a funky town in the panhandle. It was somewhat expensive.Traveling alone, the romantic aspects of the room were wasted on me. There are some good restaurants in town. Spent the night there and explored the town the next morning. Lots of history there from when cotton was king.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to "get away" for the week. He'd already stayed at the Gibson Inn but it was my first time. The hotel itself maintains a dreamy, bedroom community that's traditional and timeless. I have to mention Kimberly who went above and beyond expectations in every way from making sure all our needs were met to even helping me carry our luggage and toys (including a surf board, guitar, fishing rods, archery set, and six or so shopping bags???). You can say we like to really get our money's worth;)

In any event, I would recommend this hotel to anyone so long as they are not looking for your typical Holiday Inn. And to management - I would highly recommend considering a pay raise to Kimberly should they want to retain exceptional talent, professionalism, and customer service. Oh, and housekeeping did an excellent job, too. Plus they were so nice! In fact the only staff I never saw was management...interesting. I guess it's a good thing they have such a great staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,IL
Level Contributor
463 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our first time to stay, however our friends have stayed here 5 times and told us we had to GO!! So glad we took their advise. Kimberly checked us in and helped us map out resturants and places to visit. Very nice room with a king size bed and comfortable. The following morning agent Cynthia, over a cup of coffee took up the pace and gave us a few added tips on some things we may want to see. We had a very good day and have enjoyed our stay. Tonight Kimberly made sure we had good place for dinner and extended a nice warm request that we stop in again!!!

Room Tip: The third floor gives you a nice view of town. We liked room 313.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the Gibson Inn so much last year we drove an extra 6 hours to stay here this year and we were not disappointed. We even had the same room and the bed was so comfy after the long drive. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. This pet friendly inn even has a resident "house" cat (Salem) who has been known to spend the night with willing guests. I know we will keep coming back and hope Salem chooses us one night.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Our second visit in two years. I love it's presence as you come down off the causeway! Sooooo inviting! And pet friendly to boot. Even tho, the pet families quarters are on the back back of the Inn, each room was quite charming. Very clean and tidy. All the staff were lovely. The bar tender even brought me my glass of wine to the porch while I sat enjoying the evening with our pooch. Yummy continental breakfast with fresh homemade coffee cake and beautiful fresh fruit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.5 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
18.4 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#2 of 4 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.