We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gibson Inn
Save Saved
You added Gibson Inn to your Saves list
51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a real cute place, the staff are lovely, the place quaint. Everybody talks to you. Friday happy hour, it's a buzzing place. Definitely worth a visit if you like different places. Would love to go back. Remember it is an old building, no lifts etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    54
    12
    13
    12
See reviews for
24
98
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a slightly biased review. I gave this hotel an "excellent" because our overnight stay experience was only one part of a perfect stay in the greater Apalachicola Bay area. If this hotel were in a bigger coastal city, I would probably rate it as a "very good" compared to an upscale modern hotel. But after all, this hotel has character, was clean, has very friendly staff, large walk around porches, and is walking distance to a great day/night out on the town.

We drove down for the day from Tallahassee. We brought our dog to the beach, then had happy hour and food across the street. Without any bags - we decided to stay the night. We walked in the front door, Jenni checked in to a Queen - dog friendly room around back. We paid $15 extra for a dog friendly room. We would have never known that any other pet had ever been in there. It was clean, smelled good - and had most modern amenities you come to expect in a hotel room. We picked up a six pack from down the street and drank out on the porch before we went out for dinner.

Overall, a great launching point for a night out in Apalachicola.

Room Tip: This hotel is sort of a semi-bed and breakfast type facility. Therefore, the structure is less insul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thank you all at the Gibsons for a wonderful New Year Celebration! We returned for the 5th time in 10 years and our favourite room must be 308! The Bar hosted by wonderful Betsy James is home from home, Sue and Sharon, caring for us.
Breakfast could be good, if all the sweet cakes, nobody wants were changed to toast and bread - but who cares a New Years morning..
The Balloons, the Dancing, the very late Buffet - all as it should be at the Historic Landmark - nothing is perfect, but Grande Dames very seldom are!
We will be back - at least we do hope so!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, so it all depends on taste. We love to see the Bridge from our window a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our second visit to the Apalachicola area and we are already planning to return for the 3rd! Our stay at the Gibson Inn was very comfortable and perfectly suited for an adult getaway. It is very charming and the staff are very hospitable . If you appreciate the experience of staying at an inn, don't pass up the opportunity to stay at the Gibson.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you love old historic inns - the Gibson is a perfect stay! Beautiful dark wood floors throughout, wood clapboard interior walls giving it a ship feel, 4 poster beds, etc. etc. Really lovely, very well maintained, very spacious for an older inn. Bathrooms are in excellent shape. Nice bar downstairs. Front desk is very sweet. Price is quite good between $115-$130-ish. Both queen and king beds available for about $10-15 difference.
The one negative is that it sits in the middle of a forked intersection and so has roads on almost three sides - one of them fairly major. If you end up in a room facing the highway - it can be pretty loud with car noise. Also, the reviews that talk about the river views are wrong. You are 2-3 blocks off the water and it can only be seen in the distance.
Still its a very lovely place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the roads esp. the main highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I are vegetarians and are always leery of restaurants that say they serve vegetarian food.
Ira's is the best vegetarian food in all Florida, more likely the entire South East. Our Christmas dinner was 5 courses, from the beginning to the last morsel the entire meal was fantastic. From the Mushroom Spring rolls, to the flash fried baby Brussel sprouts, to the radichio salad, to the Tofu rice and veggie dish, and the finale, a wonderful Creme Brulee and a flourless Chocolate cake that was light(as it should be). A meal you would not expect in Apalachicola, the absolute best. Even the dinner rolls were perfect. Ira is a true Master Chef, up for any challenge. our waitress is a sweetheart, anxiously giving tidbits of information about the food. please stop by and try out Ira's menu, you won't be disappointed.
Al & Dorothy

Room Tip: call and fully explain what you expect and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is our 5th stay at the Gibson Inn. The first three visits we would give 4 stars. Visit four would be ranked at 3 stars because our rooms were not as clean as previous visits. Our Dec. 21st visit was great -- clean rooms, very pleasant dinner at Ira's, and Scout remember good times at the doggy window. We go out of our direct route to stay at the Gibson Inn. Hope you enjoy it as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.