We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we returned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gibson Inn to your Saves list
Gibson Inn
51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Glad we returned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is our 5th stay at the Gibson Inn. The first three visits we would give 4 stars. Visit four would be ranked at 3 stars because our rooms were not as clean as previous visits. Our Dec. 21st visit was great -- clean rooms, very pleasant dinner at Ira's, and Scout remember good times at the doggy window. We go out of our direct route to stay at the Gibson Inn. Hope you enjoy it as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    59
    17
    14
    13
See reviews for
24
111
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Georgia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

What a great experience! This was our first time to Apalachicola and we loved it! The Gibson Inn was so wonderful and decked out in Christmas decorations was an added bonus. We had a third floor room and got a workout going up & down the stairs, but I needed it. The only down side was the Continental Breakfast. We were expecting more than stale pastries and orange juice in prepackaged containers...come on, we're in FL...at least put out a pitcher of OJ, even if it's MinuteMaid, pretend it's fresh squeezed! Also, the yogurt needed to ice, warm yogurt, yuk, but it beat the pastries!
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Ready with maps and recommendations.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Happened to stumble on the Inn when driving through town. Very nice and clean with a very homey feeling. I very much enjoyed the fact you could sit outside on the wrap around porch. The only downside, the bar downstairs closes early. On the upside, they are considerate of their guest sleeping upstairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Gibons Inn is very quaint and tasteful, with excellent service. The staff is very friendly and the accomdations are great. Ira's Restaraunt, within the Gibson Inn, was incredible. Best meal we've ever had. Excellent service, ambiance, music and they even shared the recipes. Try this restaraunt first before trying any in Apalachicola! It really sets the bar!

Room Tip: Choose room on the west side of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Gibson Inn.

The staff was very friendly, rooms are nice.

Location is perfect - Apalachicola is a very walk-able town (and the Gibson is a spot on the "walking tour"). Many restaurants and cool spots are within easy walking distance.

Everyone is very friendly - it's hard not to strike up a conversation with a stranger.

Love having a bar & restaurant on-site as well!

Can't wait to go back & stay during one of the Murder Mystery weekends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had reservations for Thanksgiving dinner at 3:30 pm. We had never been to the Gibson Inn. Upon arrival we found a very long line of people waiting at the entrance to the dining room. No one was checking us in, taking our name, letting us know how long the wait would be or seating the patrons ahead of us. No one knew what was going on. About 4 pm we were told to go to a table at the back of the room. There was nothing on the table and we sat there for a long time. It was very drafty and cold. We finally got up and left as it was the most unorganized unwelcoming experience.
Thankfully we had visited with another couple waiting in line behind us and they told us about another place in town. We went there. It was warm, welcoming and had a great view of the water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a wonderful wedding reception at this historic Inn, which is charming. Wraparound porches supplment inside rooms for terrific reception/dining spaces. Most importantly, manager Sue and her crew combined small-town charm with extreme professionalism. They were wonderful to deal with. What they said they would do they did, and with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Gibson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.