We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida landmark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gibson Inn
Save
You added Gibson Inn to your Saves list
51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old Florida landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Verandas on each level with rocking chairs, walking distance to riverfront, and downtown, great bar for happy hour and Ira's menu was limited but all choices were appealing and our meals were really wonderful. Continental breakfast really sparse.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    55
    15
    14
    13
See reviews for
24
102
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Gibson Inn has such a warm, welcoming, lived in feel, which is what I love most about it. I've stayed there on trips to charming Apalachicola for the past 20 years, and it always feels like coming home. From its friendly staff who are willing to recommend great dining spots or bring you a drink on the graceful wraparound porch, to its newly reopened gourmet restaurant (called Ira's) and graceful old bar, to the wonderful antique clawfoot tubs -- this hotel has all the comforts and amenities I need. The Gibson offered me beach towels for my day on St. George Island, good coffee each morning with a nice little complimentary breakfast in the bar, a good mattress (kind of a big deal), and best of all, I was left alone to enjoy my stay there. Love this historic inn and this town. Authentic Old Florida at its finest.

Room Tip: When making my reservation, I requested a quiet room and was given one toward the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Va
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

You're sure to smitten by this old, original building and it's wrap around veranda with rockers to sip your evening libation. We had a corner room on the top floor but never travel light and were surprised to find no elevator. The gracious woman at the desk carried mine up the two flights of stairs but my husband "manned up" with his. This is such a quiet town, if you need or want that, even the Inn's bar closes early, but it was a nice respite from our drive over from New Orleans. We stayed 2 well rested nights and were becoming restless but the folks who manage this Inn make everyone feel as if they're welcome old friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Easy to find, the first thing you see when crossing the bridge to Apalachicola is the Gibson inn. It is a 100+ year old charming wooden building, which gives it a historic touch. Still, it has high standards and is clearly renovated in modern days.

Staff is extremely helpful and friendly, very personal and engaging.

The Inn has a very nice bar.

10 minutes of driving to the beach, St. George Island, which is also great. Ask for beach towels, you'll get it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach Fl
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Over a hundred years old but well maintained.Just basic . A comfortable bed, good airconditioning. Small bathroom, with the only sink in the room. No frills but very pleasant staff. price is low but remember it is just your basic old Inn. We were there on a friday night and the bar and poarch were filled with locals who couldn't have been nicer. A real great old bar room. A very simple continental type breakfast but we didn't try the restaurant for dinner; it loked nice.Good place to start your tour of the historic district but about a half hour from the beach at the state Park. Would go there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapmansboro, Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were staying on St. George Island when Hurricane Isaac came for a visit. We were evacuated and decided to stay in the Gibson Inn until the evacuation was lifted. We found the Inn to be very confortable and relaxing. The staff were helpful in helping us get settled. Such a relaxing place some of our group stayed there instead of going back to St. George Island. Would go back and visit Apalachicola and the Gibson Inn. Loved the ghost stories. We even have a few stories of our own.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Gibson Inn by chance and found it to be a great place to relax. My son could walk to the fishing pier and the double front porch was terrific. The hotel smells of wood and lemon oil and brought back great memories for me of my great grandmother's house. The staff was very pleasant and the rooms nicely decorated and very comfortable. I highly recommend the Gibson Inn for anyone traveling through the panhandle of Florida.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.