We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great old place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gibson Inn
Save Saved
You added Gibson Inn to your Saves list
51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Fernandina Beach Fl
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great old place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Over a hundred years old but well maintained.Just basic . A comfortable bed, good airconditioning. Small bathroom, with the only sink in the room. No frills but very pleasant staff. price is low but remember it is just your basic old Inn. We were there on a friday night and the bar and poarch were filled with locals who couldn't have been nicer. A real great old bar room. A very simple continental type breakfast but we didn't try the restaurant for dinner; it loked nice.Good place to start your tour of the historic district but about a half hour from the beach at the state Park. Would go there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    54
    12
    13
    12
See reviews for
24
98
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chapmansboro, Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were staying on St. George Island when Hurricane Isaac came for a visit. We were evacuated and decided to stay in the Gibson Inn until the evacuation was lifted. We found the Inn to be very confortable and relaxing. The staff were helpful in helping us get settled. Such a relaxing place some of our group stayed there instead of going back to St. George Island. Would go back and visit Apalachicola and the Gibson Inn. Loved the ghost stories. We even have a few stories of our own.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Gibson Inn by chance and found it to be a great place to relax. My son could walk to the fishing pier and the double front porch was terrific. The hotel smells of wood and lemon oil and brought back great memories for me of my great grandmother's house. The staff was very pleasant and the rooms nicely decorated and very comfortable. I highly recommend the Gibson Inn for anyone traveling through the panhandle of Florida.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My daughter and I took a weekend trip. We wanted to visit St. Joseph State park because of the wonderful beach and kayaking in St. Joe bay. We stayed at the Gibson and loved it! It was relaxing, clean and friendly.

Room Tip: no pool or restaurant - within walking distance of really good restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at the Gibson Inn on three occasions.
Rooms are of superior quality.
Bar and staff were great.
Food very good.
Only draw back was that you had to park on the street.
Can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: try for the queen room 1 st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We just spent a week at the Gibson Inn and it was incredible. Sharon and Sue at guest registration were especially helpful (the entire staff is fabulous). Betsy at the lovely bar is interesting and fun. The little bar spills out onto the verandah on Friday nights. Guests should come prepared to meet people from all over and all equally friendly. The housekeeping staff attended to all our needs quickly and with southern hospitality. We cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed the stay only that we cannot wait to go back.

Larry and Sandy

Room Tip: We have stayed at the Gibson several times and have had friends and family join us in other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Gibson Inn. It was a nice old inn/hotel. We had a third floor corner room. The room was nice. The walls are thin and with our room being on a busy street, well it was loud. There is no longer a resturant at the inn, the bar is nice but not much going on in there. Overall it was a good weekend and a nice inn, nothing super special but still nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.