We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gibson Inn is the BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gibson Inn
51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Apalachicola
Coppell, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Gibson Inn is the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We just spent a week at the Gibson Inn and it was incredible. Sharon and Sue at guest registration were especially helpful (the entire staff is fabulous). Betsy at the lovely bar is interesting and fun. The little bar spills out onto the verandah on Friday nights. Guests should come prepared to meet people from all over and all equally friendly. The housekeeping staff attended to all our needs quickly and with southern hospitality. We cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed the stay only that we cannot wait to go back.

Larry and Sandy

Room Tip: We have stayed at the Gibson several times and have had friends and family join us in other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    53
    12
    13
    12
See reviews for
24
97
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Gibson Inn. It was a nice old inn/hotel. We had a third floor corner room. The room was nice. The walls are thin and with our room being on a busy street, well it was loud. There is no longer a resturant at the inn, the bar is nice but not much going on in there. Overall it was a good weekend and a nice inn, nothing super special but still nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a great time at the Gibson Inn. We had a room with a queen and a day bed and there was plenty of space for our family of three with suitcases and our cooler. Yes, they do not have refrigerators in the rooms, but they will let you fill your cooler from the ice machine.

The staff is great, giving us suggestions about what to do and where to eat.

After my 10-year old son went to sleep, it was delightful to sit in a rocking chair on the front porch and enjoy the gulf breeze with my husband.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The laid-back, altho thorough, ambience of this historic Inn surpasses All! Ask the staff where to dine, where to shop, where to fish; where to do anything & everything, you'll get an honest answer. Our time spent here was more than a cut above what one normally expects. Can't wait until we get the next chance to re-visit; maybe the Seafood Festival in October; 'cause the seafood in this town is exceptional!

Room Tip: For those of Us who travel with a pet, they offer a limited # of out-boundary pet-friendly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My family and I were scheduled to spend a week on St. George Island. The week was to conclude with the wedding of my son at our rental property.
Tropical Storm Debby got in the way and really messed things up for us. We called on the Gibson Inn to come to our rescue and they did a great job. Sharon and PJ at the front desk did a wonderful job of juggling rooms for several different families during the week. The staff was great to us and they really helped with the two pets we had with us.
I cannot say enough good things about the hotel, the staff and our stay. It is a slower pace, but really enjoyable. The Gibson Inn saved us and made it a great week for all.
We finally had the wedding ceremony on the beach and came back to the Inn for a great reception and dinner after the wedding. The staff was great in all respects.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Love this place! Friendly and comfy. Our room had a wonderful slipper tub and they gave me bath gel to use, I picked my scent!. The atmosphere here makes you want to sit back and enjoy the porch. We even ran into an old friend traveling threw from Everglades city back to Michigan City.
How fun is that! I asked the best time to visit of the staff and they say the weekend of Thanksgiving is the best time, for the locals, Its a fun atmosphere and everyone is gearing up for the holiday. I plan to go back then.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

The Gibson Inn, located in the heart of beautiful Apalachicola, Florida embodies Southern Hospitality at it's finest. The dedicated staff do their absolute best to create a laid-back, relaxing environment reminiscent of days gone by. Our experience began at check in with PJ, who, after a warm welcome, shared a few recommendations on places to dine and shop. Later on, after settling in, we went down to the front desk for ice, where she not only filled our ice bucket, but offered us a couple of chilled glasses for our beer. After a quick trip to the beautiful, secluded beaches of St. George Island State Park (less than 15 minutes from the inn) my partner and I found ourselves in need of extra towels. As soon as we stepped out of our room, we met Tammy, who gladly provided us with a full set of towels and hand towels, and asked sincerely if there was anything else we needed. After relaxing for a while, we went down to the bar where Betsy mixed the finest Melonito I've ever had, withI fresh mint picked from the garden of the inn, it was absolutely mouth-watering. Finally, on our last morning there, check out was a breeze with Sue, the General Manager of the inn, who insisted that we bring our four-legged travel companions by the "doggie drive-thru" for a barrage of treats. The excellent service provided by the staff of the inn perfectly complemented the charming atmosphere set within the Gibson Inn, my partner and I felt almost like family. :) Our two nights there were the pinnacle of our vacation and we can't wait to go back. A big thanks to PJ, Tammy, Betsy, and Sue for an experience we won't soon forget.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gibson Inn to your Saves list