We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gibson Inn
51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Apalachicola
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

On a recent visit to Apalachicola, I stayed at this hotel. It is a charmingly restored early-20th. century hotel, with a cosy lobby and bar, and a wonderful wrap-around verandah. The owners have done a nice job in up-dating the hotel without sacrificing its nostalgic charm. The regular rooms are a bit small, but the suites are great, and the location (easy walking distance from the shops and restaurants of this charming little town) cannot be beat. I would stay here again if I were to revisit the area.

Room Tip: Splurge and pick a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    53
    12
    13
    12
See reviews for
24
97
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Gibson Inn is an old-timey hotel that has been renovated-- like a previous reviewer said, it's like riding in a time machine. The rooms are well-maintained and clean, the service is great, and having a drink in a rocking chair on the porch there is the definition of laid-back. The bar there is said to be a good time, but we never went in there. My only complaint is that the wi-fi is a little sketchy, but no problem really because 3G service in Apalach is fine.

Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Took the long way to get from Pensacola to Orlando and spent a saturday night in Apalachicola and stayed at the Gibson Inn. Wanted to get away from the spring break crowd, T-Shirt shops, and condos. Found the place in Apalachicola. As soon as I arrived, I knew I found it.

Gibson Inn was perfect. You feel like you went back in time 100 years while sitting on the porch and enjoying an adult beverage in the evening or your coffee in the morning.

The staff is very gracious and helpful.

Walked around downtown until dark. The most relaxing place I have visited in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stopped by this inn for an overnight stay on our way through town. Based on a review on this site, did not make a reservation (a bit of a risk, but it's off-season). We did get a lower rate than what is advertised. The front desk clerk was very nice & let us look at two rooms, a queen and a king, and allowed us to choose.
We selected the king size room on the third floor as it was a bit larger, and the bathroom was much larger with a claw-foot tub (great way to relax after spending hours on the road).
The house is over 105 years old and has it's share of creaks and a distinct smell (like my grandmother's house). It is conveniently located and within walking distance of shops, restaurants and the water. The inn has a great wrap-around porch. While we were sitting on the rocking chairs enjoying a glass of wine, the locals would stop and chat with us asking about where we were from and offering recommendations of what to see and do.
Great place to spend a day or two to just relax and enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Not sure what the rooms were like on first & second floor, but thinking with the creaks in the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I like this hotel. Room was clean, a little small, but it did the job. Bed was comfortable. Wasn't too crazy about walking 3fls to our room. Other than that, everyone was friendly and we enjoyed our stay. Cool place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The good (this is the five-star portion of my review) ...

Nice old hotel in the center of town near shops and restaurants. The bar was charmingly old. The porch that surrounds three sides of the hotel is littered with Adirondack chairs and rocking chairs which make it just about perfect. We enjoyed a glass of wine at sunset on the porch before wandering through town to find a restaurant.

The hotel rooms and bathrooms are very clean and very nice, especially considered the age of the building.

The staff was most accommodating and friendly.

There is an adequate, but very basic, continental breakfast of muffins and coffee cake.

The not-so-good (this is the one-star portion)...

We paid too much by making a reservation. While hanging out in the lobby, I heard the desk clerk quoting rates over the phone that were $20-30 less than we paid. She confirmed that the hotel provides lower rates to walk-ins than to those who make reservations, and she could do nothing to change our rate.

The restaurant is closed. According to the desk clerk, "Our chef took his Katrina money and went to San Diego." Not sure what that means, but the restaurant is definitely closed.

Wi-fi hardly works. We had zero signal in our room and an intermittent signal on the porch.

Room Tip: Do not make a reservation. According to the bartender, peak season is in June and July. Surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

My bf and I went to the Gibson Inn for the Murder Mystery Weekend! Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. Upon check in, we noticed that the toilet in our room was not clean, but after a call to the front desk, someone came immediately to clean it. Our room was clean and we had no issues with it. Our room was right at the top of the stairs ont he 2nd floor, so we heard people coming up and down all night long. The noise was worse in the bathroom, but not too terrible when we were in bed.

As for the Murder Mystery Weekend, I did feel it was lacking a little for the price we paid. The actors were amazing. Food at dinner was alright, nothing spectacular. Breakfast was normal hotel breakfast food of pancakes, bacon or sausage. My boyfriend and I were the youngest people at the Inn (early 30s). The town is very quaint and had some interesting shops. It was a great getaway!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gibson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson Inn

Address: 51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gibson Inn is a fine example of Florida "Cracker" Architecture. This was the style of wood frame structure used widely in the 19th and early 20th century in Florida. These homes and businesses are characterized by metal roofs, raised floors, high ceilings, center hallways, and large wrap around porches. A widows walk and cupola crown the tin roof, all a reflection of the area's steamboat past. Built in 1907 of native heart pine and black cypress, the inn soon became known as a first class luxury hotel and was the only one between Pensacola and Jacksonville heated entirely by steam. Now listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places. Many of the 30 guest rooms are uniquely appointed with authentic antique furnishings, cable TV, telephone, and wireless internet. Each guest room has its own full private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gibson Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gibson Inn to your Saves list