We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Water Street Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Water Street Hotel & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   329 Water Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Easton, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

OMG, what other hotel has a full & modern kitchen, two bathrooms, washer&dryer, screened porch with the most magnificent view EVER, AND quality bedding ! (And I grew up in a river view home) The staff is AS amazing as all of the room amenities-and all of the locals are inviting as well. I felt like I was walking into a dream and/or a featured article from a travel magazine when I found this place 3 yrs ago. I have stayed here every time I'm in town and have tried rooms on each of the three floors. They are all different, yet equally amazing. I almost hesitate to share this secret on Tripadvisor as I'm afraid I might call one day and Water Street will have "a no vacancy".... I'll be devastated! Wish I could travel there every month from MARYLAND!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    25
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
54
115
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, TN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had high hopes for this hotel, stopping in unannounced (but booked) to scout it for a legal retreat in the fall, on the way back from South Florida. The hotel is beautiful and is in a very good location. The lady who booked it, Nedra, was just a very sweet lady and we were quite happy with the AAA rate of $169.00 for a suite with bunk beds for the children.

The issues with it and how those issues were handled, were bizarre, incredulous and killed it as a contender for the conference. A) The water pressure was so low it would not fill a bath in under 30 minutes (We took video). B) The pipes rattled so bad we were concerned it would disturb the neighbors and you could not run the bath (We took video). C) The water temperature was probably very close to body temperature and would not support a bath D) When we checked in after hours, there did not appear to be sheets on the bunk beds and we looked all over for the sheets to make up the beds. There were none and we looked in the hotel booklet, but there is no information in the room where there are sheets. When you pull the coverlets back from the beds, the elastic catches anything underneath, so for all practical purposes, customers don't see them. They are under a non-standard mattress cover we discovered the next day from the desk clerk. E) There is no notation anywhere in the room for an after-hours number, and for customer purposes, it would appear that the hotel front desk is closed after hours so we were unable to call about sheets. We discovered later that they do have a person on duty after hours, but it is not posted in the room or outside the rooms F) The coffee maker button stuck and dispensed four cups of coffee on the floor. These were significant problems - but the most significant problem was the management. The desk worker became angry when I professionally brought those issues to her attention, and she refused to refund the difference between a king room and the king/bunk which we thought was fair. $30.00 difference. More importantly, there was no manager on duty and the desk clerk refused to "bother her manager on her days off", meaning customers who happen to come on the manager's days off will not have customer service. The front desk person blamed the City of Apalachicola for the water temperature and pressure issues; accused us of "breaking the coffee maker in order to get a free stay", and told us we should have known where to find the sheets. Our debit card was also charged a mysterious fee that was later designated as pet fee, when no pet stayed in the room. We notified Visa, and the hotel refunded the charge.


Written response from the manager said, in part, "If any of your concerns had warranted a discount, I would have given (front desk clerk) the authority to grant you a discount. .....I am not sure you understand there was nothing the hotel did wrong.....We have had no similar complaints concerning our coffee makers; however, any appliance may break or malfunction at any given moment. .......While you claim the Hotel may lose $150,000.00 in revenue from your conference, we are a small 30-room hotel in a poor rural community and it would be doubtful that your conference would generate that kind of revenue for this hotel.

Until that point, we felt like other customers might have a better experience, but that email was exceptionally problematic.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHM, Manager at Water Street Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
This response addresses the review titled “Bizarre and Unsatisfactory Stay Here”. Since many Guests depend upon Trip Advisor reviews to make decisions concerning travel plans, I am compelled to provide our side of this “bizarre” event and let you, the reader, form your own conclusion. Normal business practices for those who organize corporate conferences would be for the individual to call the hotel and speak with the staff member, make arrangements for a meeting, and then tour the property, rooms, conference rooms, reception areas, etc. In this case, this Guest telephoned and “booked” a suite for her family to spend the night on a Sunday evening at approximately 7:30 pm and arrived later that same evening.
When booking the room, the Guest communicated to the staff member that she was passing through town with her family. The staff member took her information and placed her in a suite with a king-size bed in one bedroom and bunk beds in another bedroom to fit her family needs. The regular rate for that night was $179.00 plus tax for double occupancy. We charge $10.00 per night plus tax for each additional person. The staff member provided an AAA discount of $10.00 and did not charge the additional fee for the Guest’s children.
The guest was going to arrive late after lobby hours and was informed of the following: the location of the room key, notification of the availability of our on-call manager for potential additional assistance, the phone number which is also posted on the lobby windows on both sides of the lobby doors, and the location of an outdoor land-line for those whose cell phones do not have service in our area. This staff member, who has been with the hotel since we opened in 2007, strives to ensure our guests’ needs are met even after the lobby is closed and is accurate and well experienced in communicating after hour procedures. Additionally, the manual in the suite to which the guest referred also contains instructions concerning calling the hotel number to receive help after our lobby hours.
The next morning, another staff member was on duty. The Guest demanded an additional discount because of the alleged problems. This staff member explained the existing price breaks, which were no additional charge for the guest’s children and the applied AAA discount. The staff member tried to explain that although the suite is large, it is priced for two people. The Guest was abrupt and rude to our staff member to such a degree that another Guest in the lobby intervened. The only mention of a conference was after the staff member explained that no additional discounts would be given for her stay. The guest then attempted to use this conference as leverage to receive additional discounts. Our staff member felt intimidated and threatened to the point of tears. I must say after working over 22 years in the hospitality industry, I have never encountered this type of behavior from a customer.
After the departure, this Guest emailed our corporate office with the subject matter of “Issue at the Water Street Inn”. Later in the afternoon, the Guest emailed one of the Hotel’s original and former developers with the subject matter “Extreme issue at the Water Street Inn”. This Guest also contacted our local Chamber of Commerce, filed a complaint with The Better Business Bureau, and posted this negative Trip Advisor in order to achieve her goal of obtaining additional discounts. I believe our other guests’ Trip Advisor reviews demonstrate our commitment to quality service and guest accommodation in beautiful Apalachicola, Florida. Thank you for your consideration and attention to this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineland, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is without a doubt one of the best places we've stayed in recently. Loved the suite. Great rooms. Great view. Unbelievably quiet. Staff was outstanding, including of course the famous Nedra. Easy walk to great places downtown, and a nice little Veterans Memorial park nearby. Fell in love with the town, and the Water Street made it even better.

Room Tip: I think they all have a river view, but if not, request one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This wonderful suite hotel is one of the best we ever booked. Located in a charming small town and very quietly situated on the water, this is truly an outstanding place to stay . All suites have large balcony with superb view of the Apelachicola River and the adjoining marshlands. The beautiful rooms are very spacious and like the kitchen fully equipped (washer and dryer). With 2 bathrooms, huge beds, beautiful wooden floor and furnishing, 2 television, private screened huge balcony its perfect for a great stay! The small village is nice to visit, with some very good restaurants within a few minutes walk from the hotel. The building next to the hotel is indeed an old fisherman's wharf, but thats old florida. Nature is wonderful and we liked visiting some islands nearby to take some (bird)pictures. Rooms are very clean and quiet. The hotel itself has no restaurant. A small breakfast is already in the (huge) fridge, but buy some grocery at the supermarket and you enjoy even more this wonderful suite with great and very clean kitchen/bar. Also the marine services and jetty looked very good, although it was very quiet when we were there. Many guests are repeaters so we heard and we want to come back too...
Try to book a floor on the top floor with even a more beautiful view, we had room 206 on the second floor and loved it. 10 out of 10 !!

Room Tip: room 206 & 306 is huge, but the rooms aside are even larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Water Street Hotel in early March. We had an especially warm welcome from Nedra who could not have been more helpful. She helped to make our visit an exceptional stay!

The rooms were beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable. We had a beautiful river front two bedroom two bath with full kitchen and screened patio. Beautiful wood floors and lovely furnishings.

It is a wonderful place from which to explore this region

Room Tip: We didn't have children so can't comment on kids activities. We ate in the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

After an awful night at the wyndham bay point in panama city beach, we decided to leave and drive into apalachicola. We came upon the Water Street Hotel. It was heaven. We had a beautiful river front two bedroom two bath with full kitchen and screened patio. Beautiful wood floors and lovely furnishings. Very clean. We loved it and will absolutely go back. The town itself was charming and very dog friendly. Our little cockatoo was welcome at outdoor restaurants and even allowed in stores. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you are a boating person this little hotel in Apalachicola is perfect place to dock and spend the night. Walking distance to restaurants, oyster bars, stores. Views of the river and St George are beautiful. The rooms are very spacious with full kitchens and balconies. There is a pool onsite, plenty of parking and we were able to bring our dogs!! We will be back!

Room Tip: Top floor on the western corner is the way to go for sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Address: 329 Water Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.