We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now one of our favorite hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Water Street Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Water Street Hotel & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   329 Water Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Apalachicola
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Now one of our favorite hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Water Street Hotel is in all aspects a truly outstanding hotel in a quaint, interesting town. My wife and I spent two nights there. The suites are large, extremely well designed and equiped. With large, private screened porches, it is a delight to look over a creek, a river and marshes and enjoy silence. The staff are among the most friendly and helpful we have experienced. Evelyn at checkin and Nedra later that day were outstanding. There are at least six excellent restaurants nearby, and the oysters are sublime. We look forward to a return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed suite 306 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    21
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
98
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a wonderful 50 birthday party at the Water Street hotel. There was a total of 16 of us. We had a good selection of different rooms. All were very nicely designed and completely furnished with a full kitchen. Nedra Jackson checked us all in and made sure that we had everything that we needed for our stay. Fun was had by all!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 308 Top floor great view and lots of space!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in july 2012. First impressions weren't great as it looked like we had rolled up to an industrial estate!! However, don't be fooled - this place is amazing!!! Our apartment was not what we expected at all!!! It was HUGE!!!!!! Loved everything about this place, from the complimentary glass of wine on arrival to the recommendations by the receptionist and finally to the complimentary oysters voucher received for 'Up The Creek Raw' restaurant down the road - yummy!! A really nice touch!!! The balcony was lovely, with protective mosquito nets surrounding it and had lovely views of the water and the boats. A really chilled oot place - would definitely visit again!! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay over the long new year's weekend in Apalachicola at the Water St Hotel. I found out about it through Trip Advisor and was very pleased. It's a beautiful place with lovely views over the water. I saw lots of water birds but no gators or dolphins. I took a nice boat tour from the maritime museum and didn't see any either, but I think the cold weather might be the reason. We did see lots of eagles on our boat tour, which was a nice surprise. We are the type that keep the do not disturb sign up for short trips but we got a call from the front desk every afternoon asking if we needed them to bring us anything since we didn't have our room serviced. I thought that was a nice touch. We did spend alot of time waiting for he elevator on the first floor. When you press the button it doesn't light up most of the time. it eventually works. The food in the town was incredible despite the oyster shortage that is very much in the news down there. Recommend Oysters Migonette & Huge Peel & Eat Shrimp at Up the Creek, Crab & Shrimp Bisque at Papa Joes, Shrimp & Grits and Raw Oysters at Boss Oyster, Beef Tenderloin Eggs Benedict at the Owl Cafe. We walked out of Carolines at breakfast because they kept ignoring us and waiting on other people who came in after us. Ended up at Tamara's which we enjoyed. I learned on my river tour that the area is also famous for Tupelo honey (which I have never heard of) and that there was a movie made about it called Ulee's Gold with Peter Fonda. We are looking forward to watching it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just gotten back from another Apalachicola trip, again staying at the Water Street Hotel. While we still enjoyed it, things were just not up to our expectations after staying there a year ago. The staff wasn't as personable, we had to contact them each day about something missing from our breakfast basket or some housekeeping issue. The yogurt they supplied in the breakfast basket was out of date, until we pointed it out to them and got some in date.

When you're paying top dollar, I just expect more. I was surprised at how high the rates were, considering the place was practically empty.

Does it mean I won't go back? Certainly not. But, I will adjust my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSHM, General Manager at Water Street Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear RKD909,

We are very sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us! At the Water Street Hotel and Marina, we always expect a flawless guest experience for all of our guests’ stays. I wanted to take an opportunity to respond to your Trip Advisor report from your recent holiday vacation.

Our staff is basically the folks we had during your trip last year. I am sorry that they did not seem as personable as your last visit. Our staff and management take pride in treating all of guests as if you were guests in our own homes. It is our policy to call all the rooms on a daily basis to make sure all of our guests’ needs are met. It is unfortunate that your issues were not brought to our attention during these calls and that you found it necessary to contact us each day. We make these calls to our guests in order to provide us with an opportunity to correct any problems and to find solutions for your concerns, before it is necessary to call us.
In your Trip Advisor report, you stated that the yogurt we supplied in the breakfast basket was out of date, until you pointed it out to us and got some in date. I apologize for the oversight of the yogurts being out of date. We discovered that our purveyor had sent an out of date case and the case had to be returned to our supplier. Unfortunately, a few items were delivered to rooms. Normally, a “sell by” or “use date” is not indicative that a product cannot be safely consumed. However, it is not our normal business practice to place items for our guests outside of the stamped date on the product. We apologize for this minor incident, but this type of incident should not have adversely affected your stay.
Our rates vary throughout the year. Like most hotels, our rates are a little higher during designated holidays, such as your stay during the Christmas holiday. While you were surprised at how high the rates were, “considering the place was practically empty”, looks can be deceiving because during your stay our occupancy was actually at a high rate. That is the beauty of our property because when we are busy it does not appear to our guest as if we are.

Though we can't undo what has been done, we are confident that these issues will not be repeated. We do not want our guests to “adjust their expectations” in our hotel, we have high expectations in our ability to serve our guests and strive daily to maintain excellence results. We do appreciate your remarks on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again soon!

For further assistance with this matter and future reservations, you may contact Leigh Coble, Operations Manager, (850) 653-3700 or email: Leigh@waterstreethotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Great new place, try to be upscale in a tiny town. I only have one issue, for the price they should consider food service. The concierge was nice. Expect a call from a realator offering a "tour", but 2thumbs up, wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Well, OK, location, property, views, comfort, all great. But special kudos to front office staff, especially Nedra, top notch. From your suites, you can watch birds, boats and all kinds of activity. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: They are all good, but we like an upper floor.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Water Street Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Street Hotel & Marina

Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel And Marina
Water Street Hotel Marina
Water Street Apalachicola
Address: 329 Water Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thirty NEW upscale condominiums with all the services of a hotel! The minute you step onto the grounds, you'll lose track of everything but the beautiful natural wetlands and the lazy Apalachicola River. If you enjoy solitude, you'll enjoy this. One and two bedroom, two bath condos feature a living-dining area with fully equipped kitchen, stainless steel appliances, washer-dryer, flat screen cable TVs, high speed internet, private screened veranda overlooking the river, outdoor pool and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Water Street Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.