We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always enjoy the seafood here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill

Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill
45 Ave D, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1425
850-653-1189
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Port Saint Joe, Florida
1 review
“We always enjoy the seafood here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I take my family to Papa Joe's several times a year and just found this site to write a review so here goes.. It's off the main road but once you find it you'll not forget it. The seafood has always been fresh and prepared great. We live 20 miles away and eat seafood often and it's hard to beat Papa Joe's. Even my kids ask to go back for their shrimp. Their grilled grouper is a must try! The environment is family friendly and I recommend you request to sit in the room overlooking the water. We even saw an alligator swim by once.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    121
    35
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

So sorry I can't agree with Wfreeman7661 - as we left Papa Joe's very hungry and very unhappy. That's usually what happens when you don't get your food and no one cares. This was our fifth (and last) visit to Papa Joe's. It's always been just 'decent' to us but it's family friendly (or was) and our grandchildren like it and like to walk on the pier. Besides not having fresh oysters (funny, we found them at two other places that evening) we just couldn't get served. At first it seemed like it was going to be ok - our server brought drinks and took our appetizer order - one crab dip and chips. That's when it went downhill. About 20 minutes passed and no appetizer. Our waiter finally came over and said we would have it soon - they were working on the 'chips'! After another 5-10 minutes we finally got the appetizer. He had taken our dinner orders (4 adults and 2 children) when we ordered the appetizer. So we waited and waited and waited and watched as people we came in with ate their dinners and left and four new people behind us were seated and got their drinks and meals inside of ten minutes. Long story short, one hour and a half later we had no meals and no waiter checking on us or our meals. We finally got another waitress to get the manager who said about half or our order was ready and she would take off our drinks (4 waters and two soft drinks and the appetizer) if we wanted to keep waiting. Or, she said, you can just leave. In other words, she had no intention of making it right. She had no clue what happened to our ticket - no one could find it. So we decided to leave - very hungry and very unhappy. Even though we have gone to Papa Joe's for four years, we read some reviews before going this time. Most of them were very bad - BUT - the grandkids like it and our past experiences were ok. Should have listened to the reviews this time! So off we went back across the bridge to St. George and Harry A's - where were served very quickly - including fresh oysters! So sorry to have to give this bad review but our experience was just too terrible not to report it. Harry A's was great and so was The Gibson - just in case you actually like to get food after you order it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A real dump! Everyone said the food was good, but it was ok. Papa really needs to clean the place up, i.e., replace broken ceiling fans and a good cleaning would help!! Windows had greasy fingerprints from kids on them, floor needed cleaning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a real treat, where the locals eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been to Papa Joe's, before, and each time, the food has been fresh, real, and darn good. The waitress was quick, attentive, and very knowledgeable of the menu. Our dinning guests, said the fried shrimp was some of the best, they have eaten lately. The grouper with Cajun seasoning, was the highlight of our evening. Another couple had the grouper sandwich, which also was a favorite. The restaurant is off the beaten path, but worth the extra five minutes from the business district. The view is also a plus to see the anglers bring in their catch and unload, the flowing waters, and the tall reeds. When we come back to Apalachicola, we will definately be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good standard seafood joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

As at least one other reviewer has mentioned, there were no oysters on the half shell at Papa Joe's in the recent past. The heavy rains and river runoff closed Apalachicola Bay to oyster harvesting, and several St. George / Apalachicola restaurants had a limited supply or no fresh oysters altogether. We did appreciate the sign at the front of the restaurant informing us that there were no oysters, so we didn't get our hopes up.

Don't expect anything fancy - plastic chairs and cheap tableware are par for the course. This place is no frills, no nonsense, good old fashioned fried seafood. We enjoyed the crab cakes, grouper, crab claws, and a seafood platter. If you like fried seafood, you will love Papa Joe's. The portion sizes are generous, the waitresses are delightfully redneck (takes one to know one), and the service is always predictably good here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.