We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warehouse atmosphere, lots of fried food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill

Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill
45 Ave D, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1425
850-653-1189
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 29 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Warehouse atmosphere, lots of fried food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were told this was the best place to eat oysters in the neighborhood and yes, there were lots of oysters on the menu, baked and steamed. Two of our party of 7 ordered them and really enjoyed them. Several others had the grouper special and said it was good. The plates were full. A couple of different salads were heaping and looked good. I had the crab quesidilla and a fish bisque, both good. There were several fried specialties that day, mozzarella sticks, onion rings and hush puppies and even pickles, and we had some of those too. Our server was cheerful but the service was VERY slow; apparently the kitchen was short staffed that day. We waited over an hour and a half for our food. No special accommodation was made for our long wait, and the oyster-eaters had long finished their meal before the rest of us got ours. It was ok, and fun to sit in the window and look out at the water, the boats and pelicans, but the food took way too long coming out and some of our group got restless. I think it spoiled what could have been a really nice eating adventure.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    128
    45
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We got takeout as they do not have facilities for our little dog. The baked flavored oysters were fantastic. Highly recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Typical Cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The oysters are plentiful and there is a view of the river if you sit near the windows. I suggest that you do so, otherwise this is just another restaurant that serves fried everything. Grilled dishes are available, but I think the oysters are the main draw. Average prices one might expect. I had a grilled fish sandwich and was not impressed that much.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“More Oysters!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great local place and down to earth service with excellent service and food on a quite night during the week.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Level Contributor
286 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent Oyster Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

On our 9500 mile round trip driving across USA & back Apalachicola was the only place that we wanted to revisit before we left US.....& Papa Joe's was one of the main reasons...we went back there the other night met even more of the family than previously & they were wonderful ....it made the excellent raw oysters & the atmosphere even more wonderful. Would not visit Apalachicola without heading there especially if you are an oyster on half shell fan !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.