We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Oysters!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill

Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill
45 Ave D, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1425
850-653-1189
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 29 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
North of Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“More Oysters!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great local place and down to earth service with excellent service and food on a quite night during the week.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    128
    45
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Level Contributor
286 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent Oyster Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

On our 9500 mile round trip driving across USA & back Apalachicola was the only place that we wanted to revisit before we left US.....& Papa Joe's was one of the main reasons...we went back there the other night met even more of the family than previously & they were wonderful ....it made the excellent raw oysters & the atmosphere even more wonderful. Would not visit Apalachicola without heading there especially if you are an oyster on half shell fan !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sure glad we found where the locals go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had driven almost 2 hours from PCB to get to Apalachicola before sunset & almost missed the best restaurant in town! My husband went to a local hotel & asked where the locals eat & was told how to find Papa Joe's. I had been craving fried oysters since before leaving home & I was NOT disappointed with Papa Joe's (the batter was light & the oyster flavor perfect)!! My husband enjoyed a dozen raw oysters that we watched be shucked as we went to our table, then a fried grouper salad and was a perfect compliment to the oysters. They also serve about the best cold beer around!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We found this place by accident while looking for for another place to eat, and boy, am I glad we did. The best steamed oysters (we had the parmesan) I've ever had. And that's in a town known for it's oysters. I couldn't get over the size, huge. I talked a friend into trying them, and he was hooked. He HATES oysters, until now. He even ordered another half dozen for himself. The grouper entree was to die for. Larges fillets, lightly breaded. The shrimp and grouper baskets were just as good. It was a lucky find and we'll be back....soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We been here before and still enjoyed the oysters...the outside room was closed cold day...service was great and the couple that went with us enjoyed there dinners also...see ya again soon hopefully

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.