We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Cafe

Owl Cafe
15 Avenue D, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1719
850 653 9888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
129 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Brunch, fabulous. Have the French toast. It's totally decadent. Omellete, eggs Benedict, hash, were all super. We went for lunch....terrific! Dinner was so good my taste buds are still happy. Great ambiance, service was super. Most items made on site, desserts and dressing and breads....if you can have Daniel wait on you. Soooo cute!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    203
    59
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
236 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SUNDAY LUNCH /BRUNCH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

i've been to Owl Tap Room on several occasions, but never to the main Owl Cafe. went with friend for lunch/brunch...lots of others did also, busy place.
she had omelet of the day...mushroom/spinach...comes with fried pot. "cubes", fruit side. i had fried oyster Po' Bo' (let, tom, on) and the duck confit fries (you read right)...pieces of duck & cracklings with gryuere cheese.
all very good...relatively inexpensive (omelet $10, sandwich $12).
would go back...lots of other goodies to choose from. happy trails

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“DUCK FRIES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

As a local this is a go to place for consistently GREAT food, GREAT service and GREAT drinks. They have wonderful happy hour deals and their duck fries & crab dip are some the best things I have ever eaten in my life.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My dinner salad was especially impressive. As a single diner, the Hostess went out of her way to make me feel welcome.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennice, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cloth napkin service in a paper napkin town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stopped here for a late lunch and were promptly greeted and seated. The dining room is more formal than many we have experienced in a beach town and the crisp white tablecloth and napkins were refreshing. We had read other Trip Advisor reviews so I knew I wanted to try the french fries. Yes,,,they are the best french fries I've ever tasted!

Needing a gluten-free menu, my choices were slim. I selected the grilled grouper sandwich without the bun. It was an ample lunch portion and the fish was moist and expertly grilled. My husband was pleased with his shrimp tacos stuffed with peppers, mushrooms, and onions. NOTE TO RESTAURANT: If you would offer the choice of corn tortilla or flour tortilla with these tacos you would have a gluten-free option for your patrons. An easy way to add some variety for us "special needs eaters."

The woman at the next table was not pleased with her penne and meatballs and the waitress graciously replaced it without question. Always nice to see these situations handled without a hassle.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owl Cafe also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Owl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.