We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Cafe

Owl Cafe
15 Avenue D, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1719
850 653 9888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Level Contributor
286 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Just Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had booked to go to Dixie Theater & wanted a quick pre-dinner meal.....the maitre d fitted us in & boy was it worth it....we had mahi mahi that was bliss....we have eaten mahi mahi in very many parts of the world including caught & eaten straight from the back of our boat & I can honestly say this was prepared perfectly with just the right amount cooking & flavour not to overpower this wonderful mild fish. Service was excellent & we could not fault it...or only fault was that we did not have enought time pre-show to enjoy it even more !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    202
    59
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A real find on the "Forgotten Coast"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spend a month or more every winter on Cape San Blas, 20 miles west of Apalachicola. We had brunch here several times (brunch menu) and everything was outstanding. Try the crab cakes benedict and whatever you do, don't miss the cheesy grits (that come with fresh fruit). Servers seem to be genuinely caring and local young folks...somewhat "hip." Mimosas and bloody Mary's are well done. Very attractive dining rooms with white linen atmosphere and lots of nice tables for two. At times, you may need a reservation. It looks like they may also have outdoor dining in warmer weather, but I'm not sure. This is one of the best bets in Apalachicola and along the entire "Forgotten Coast" as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Late afternoon snack and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was surprised by the number and selection of craft beers available. The fried oyster appetizer with the cajun sauce was very tastey.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening dinning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We made a diversion on our drive back home to Apalachicola. We got there too late for lunch so they recommended going downstairs to their Tap Room for a smaller menu. We did and had drinks and the oyster appetizer. That held us over until we returned later in the evening or dinner. I had the baked whole snapper. Beautiful presentation of the dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have spent the last three winters at nearby SGI and have eaten here every year. In my opinion neither the food or the service is what it was three years ago. Only ate there once this year and once again had a poor server so we never went back. Easy to see why Up the Creek has moved into the #1 spot for restaurants. Food is good not great and if you get a good server you will be fine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owl Cafe also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Owl Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.