We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boss Oyster

Boss Oyster
125 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320
+1 850-653-8139
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 29 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oyster Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This place is an oyster lovers wet dream! Boss oyster prepares oysters any and every way you can think of with fresh, plump and tasty oysters! The beer was cold the service prompt and friendly and the view is beautiful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    209
    138
    67
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The dogs enjoyed watching the birds and fish come in on the boats. I really enjoyed my shrimp! It was very fresh. My friend enjoyed the crab legs...yum!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Visited for a late dinner on a November weeknight. When we were seated, our server told us the kitchen closed in four minutes. Menus anyone? I got the obligatory raw oysters (very good ) and a grouper chowder (OK,) while my wife had baked oysters with Parmesan, which she describes as disgusting. She also got an oyster poor boy. The fried oysters were OK, and abundant, but there was little relationship to the traditional (think New Orleans) poor boy. We were then hurried out the door about 8:30. The seafood was good, the preparations sketchy, the service and circumstances forgettable, and the price a little ambitious. Wouldn't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The place is on the harbor and the food was absolutely excellent. It was cool but we chose to eat outside, a delightful evening. However the Mosquitos were out in force. Don't let the outside look influence your meal. Food was excellent!!! Service was excellent!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Severn, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good value too. Nice location on the river. Wonderful oysters, different choices, fresh and tasty. We had grilled Chechen and it was delish. We had dinner near the end of the evening on the last day of the Seafood Festival and the staff was still friendly!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boss Oyster also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Boss Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boss Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.