We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food At This Restaurant - Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ira's at the Gibson Inn - CLOSED

Ira's at the Gibson Inn
51 Avenue C, Apalachicola, FL
850 653 2193
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a beautiful restaurant located in the Gibson Inn which is on the national historical register having been built in 1907.Our cuisine is called New Florida cuisine featuring local fish and the freshest ingredients all prepared creatively by Chef Ira Mittelman.So come on in for a quiet dinner, or a family night out(we have a children's menu. Or if you want to bring your 4 legged friend we have outdoor seating
Lindale, Georgia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great Food At This Restaurant - Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I can not say enough good things about this Restaurant Hotel. We had nine people in our group and were seated immediately. The staff here are very caring and gracious. The food was delicious, we had so many different items from the menu that I can honestly say the Nine people left here completely satisfied. Also, we spoke with the folks at the front desk of the Hotel and they allowed us to view some of their rooms. The rooms here are fantastic, no room is exactly alike. they are furnished in antique furniture. We plan to return here soon and stay in one of the great rooms.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    10
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
unguidedmissal
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“It is Apalach, after all...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was a Saturday night early...not very busy. The bread with red pepper garlic spread was a nice start. Some might find the garlic a bit heavy but not I. The Ceasar's salad was tasty though not very prettily presented. The parmesian crisp was strangely overcooked and yet not crisp. The swordfish fish of the day was described as topped with a tomato, olive, caper salsa but it came not quite cooked in the middle (it was cut quite thickly) and with the fore mentioned items just kind of scattered about as opposed to hanging together as a "salsa". The lazy girl potatoes were tasty though I would have preferred them presented rather than glopped on. Picky, picky. My vegetarian date was happy with her poblano pepper cheesecake. I tasted it and it was surprisingly light and lightly peppery. She also ordered and liked the grilled asparagus but (another presentation issue) would have liked them plated with her cheesecake as opposed to on a separate plate. The asparagus could have been trimmed a bit more of the fibrous bottom parts and (personal preference) had the basalmic left off. The key lime pie was nice and tart/bitter as they should be. I would have preferred a bit higher pie to crust ratio. The strawberry shortcake was very good with a scone-like shortbread and very fresh strawberries. Both deserts was topped with freshly wihipped cream.
The ambiance was the usual comfortable warmth of that space that has been consistent through all its' iterations. The service was pretty good. We are in Apalach after all.
I'll probably be going back...try different dishes maybe. They serve a good many vegetarian options which is very much appreciated there not being much of that in the area.
Well...It's not Avenue C but, again, we are in Apalach and it may be a bit better "fine dining" than The Owl.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

After a long day exploring Apalach and enjoying the beach at St. George Island, my husband and I decided to give Ira's a try. We are so glad we did. The atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable, and our server was knowledgeable and attentive. The husband loves seafood and was beyond happy with the Oyster Saute appetizer and the Cioppino for dinner.I'm allergic to seafood (a real downer in this area, I know), so I had an appetizer of the specials list with Florida tomatoes, Vidalia onions, and balsamic (very tasty), and the ribeye for dinner. The steak was actually cooked properly, and even though I ordered it well done, it was juicy, flavorful, and not at all leathery. We will be going back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent dining!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Last night my husband and I, and our friendly dog, Smooch (because they are a pet friendly dining place), enjoyed a most wonderful dining experience at Ira's at the Gibson Inn!! I had the fresh Aligator Point Clams in a tasty broth and Ken had the Oyster Saute for appetizer. Emily, our server, was very, very friendly and attentive and when Ira learned Smooch was with us he came out to say hello! Ira gave us wine selection suggestions as well. For our main course, and to pleasantly avoid all the fried food, I enjoyed Grilled Shrimp with Pesto Penne - OMG!! It was sooo fresh! Ken had the Homemade Spicy Sausage/Mushroom Ravioli. Excellent!! Smooch even got a big bowl of cold water!! To finish we delighted in the fresh homemade Key Lime Pie. Wow! We sat on the porch outside and it was a lovely, lovely evening! Thank you!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“"you win some and you lose some"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

After consulting with Trip Advisor and seeing several good reviews for this quaint hotel dining room we decided to give it a try. It is difficult to find good vegetarian fare in a seafood-specialty town but the menu listed some veg choices. After ordering the two veg options our waitress came back to report the kitchen had no pesto. So? After 15 min. She returned to say they could provide the pasta with a red pepper optional pesto. OK? sounded fine. But wasn't. No flavor. When she brought the check she said,"you win some and you lose some." Not my night for winning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ira's at the Gibson Inn also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ira's at the Gibson Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.