We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Consulate Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Consulate Suites
Save
You added Consulate Suites to your Saves list
76 Water Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Gilbertsville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our stay at the Consulate was great in every way. The Attache suite was perfect and accomodated four of us nicely. The place was spotless and included high end amenities. I will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: I looked at all four units and every single unit was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We still have one more night here but couldn't wait to write this review to let everyone know how special this place is. Especially due to the fact that we were disappointed with the quality of restaurants in Apalachicola and the shops in town and surrounding areas not meeting the expectations that are set when you read the tourism brochures. Also, the weather turned quite cold unexpectedly during our stay which ruled out outdoor activities. So we made our suite here our little hang out haven and just relaxed, watched TV, read, etc.

We stayed in the Attache Suite, which is one of only two, one bedroom suites. This suite is HUGE, has a very comfortable king bed, adequate sized bathroom, LARGE living room / kitchen / breakfast bar area, plus an expansive porch with a lovely view of the courtyard below.

While we were not in any of the three other suites, here's a few hints based on what we learned and observed. The Port Captain, the other one bedroom, is much smaller than the Attache. Maybe if you had never been in the Attache, you would love the Port Captain, however, we love our space. Also, note.....the Port Captain is just a Queen Bed and its balcony overlooks the parking lot but you may have some view of the river to the right. The other two suites, 2 bedroom, appear to be both large and have very nice balcony views.

Here are a few things that you might not read or miss on their web site. All four suites have central A/C and heat and washer / dryer. Daily housekeeping is NOT provided. However, we ended up liking the fact that we didn't need to worry about putting things away or vacating the room while housekeeping comes in. Plus, they provide everything necessary should you need to do any minor housekeeping yourself: broom, mop, soap, extra garbage bags, etc. WiFi is provided but the signal was VERY weak at least in the Attache suite. However, if you have your own wireless connection you shouldn't have any problems. We use AT&T and the signal was always strong.

While the rooms were established in 1998, the place looks fresh, clean and practically brand new; a lot better than some Marriott and Hilton rooms that we have stayed at that were not as old. A lot is due to the quality of the furnishings and supplies. I happened to notice they installed top of line Kraft Maid kitchen cabinets and use high end Sferra linens. All the little amenities (soaps, lotion, cleaning supplies, welcome snacks, etc.) are high end, eco friendly / natural foods.

They did an excellent job renovating the Grady building. While the suites have a fresh, clean and modern amenity feel, they blended the new in with the old such as the raw wood support and ceiling beams and the brick walls and grand crown moldings. Has the feel of old style New Orleans or Savannah architecture.

The kitchen is FULLY stocked. Examples: grater, ice cream scoop, shrimp deveiner, Kitchen Aid cutlery. More than you would ever find at major chain hotel suites with kitchens such as Residence Inns, TownPlace Suites or Homewood Suites.

Lastly, we always dealt with Shari regarding our reservation and during our stay. She was ALWAYS extremely friendly and helpful especially when we had to leave early during our stay due to a family emergency.

The staff and accommodations are great. If you are in the Apalachicola area, you must try the Consulate Suites. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Returning to Apalachicola after a four-year hiatus we were looking for a peaceful venue in which we could relax and cook some meals at night after a day vagabonding the area. The Consulate was everything we hoped for and more. Spacious, elegant, and affording a spectacular view of the river from the deck, this was bliss.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending a weekend at Apalachicola's Consulate suites. The rooms were beyond our high expectations (the web site does not do them justice) and the town was a rare jewel on a coast that (that, let's admit it, has been ruined by crappy development). Great night's sleep and we woke to shrimpmen and oystermen heading out on the boats right off our balcony overlooking the Apalachicola river.
Bathroom had the original antique fixtures on the antique bath. You can tell the room was obviously put together by people who understood comfort and know how to live and not just by an interior designer. GREAT place
The restaurants downtown were a little too self aware to be truly great but the town itself is not. Its still real, and that my friends is a rare treat in Florida.

Room Tip: Awesome self service oysters just across the rd by the river and st george beaches are world class
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Just completed the most relaxing 3 days and 2 nights at The Consulate Suites. We met our friends from central Florida and stayed in the Consul, everything we needed and more! The balcony overlooks the Apalachicola River, saw a pair of Bald Eagles while enjoying the view, as boats left and entered the river. Watched the sunrise each morning from the balcony. The suite was well appointed, everything from the welcome basket of goodies and toiletries to the I-Phone docking station for music. The Market downstairs has it all. Book you next stay in Apalachicola at the Consolate Suites and you will be a Hero. We are already planning our next visit for next year and plan to stay 3 nights!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The draw for us was the fact that it is right on the river and is a completely renovated old building. It was at one time the French Consulate (hence the name) and we are of French extraction. When we arrived, we were informed that a guest damaged the shower in the suite we rented so we were upgraded to The Consulate Suite. It was gorgeous. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms, really big, fully equipped kitchen, more than we really needed. But there was a very large balcony with a view of the shrimp boats on the river. It was very clean. The only drawback is - no elevator but we were helped with our luggage. Downstairs is Grady's Market, an upscale, lovely little store with a men's shop and a women's shop. There is no food available but there are several restaurants in the area should you not want to cook. (We didn't). Our host left a sweet little welcome basket of coffee, tea, cookies, etc. It was truly a luxury for us to have a full living room where we could watch TV at night and wifi throughout. Lighting could be a little better. This is our go to place whenever we visit Apalachicola again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful. It just depends on how many people are sharing the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We really loved our stay in the Attache suite. The rooms are very nice, roomy, tastefully decorated, and provided with everything we needed. Having a full kitchen allowed us to buy fresh seafood at the shop one block away to cook for dinner. The washer/dryer meant that we could wash and dry out our bathing suites and towels after visits to beach on St.Georges island. Everything is in town is a short stroll away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Consulate Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Consulate Suites

Address: 76 Water Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 beautiful suites located on the Apalachicola River. Each suite offers full kitchen, laundry room, flat screen TV's, Blu-Ray player, personal wifi, and balconies with great views. Many restaurants are within walking distance of the Consulate. During your stay we do not offer daily housekeeping but if you find you need something or have any maintenance concerns you may contact us bye phone or the Grady Market is open from 10:00 to 5:30; someone there can contact the appropriate person to take care of your request or concerns. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Consulate Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Consulate Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.