We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Consulate Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Consulate Suites
Save
You added Consulate Suites to your Saves list
76 Water Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending a weekend at Apalachicola's Consulate suites. The rooms were beyond our high expectations (the web site does not do them justice) and the town was a rare jewel on a coast that (that, let's admit it, has been ruined by crappy development). Great night's sleep and we woke to shrimpmen and oystermen heading out on the boats right off our balcony overlooking the Apalachicola river.
Bathroom had the original antique fixtures on the antique bath. You can tell the room was obviously put together by people who understood comfort and know how to live and not just by an interior designer. GREAT place
The restaurants downtown were a little too self aware to be truly great but the town itself is not. Its still real, and that my friends is a rare treat in Florida.

Room Tip: Awesome self service oysters just across the rd by the river and st george beaches are world class
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Just completed the most relaxing 3 days and 2 nights at The Consulate Suites. We met our friends from central Florida and stayed in the Consul, everything we needed and more! The balcony overlooks the Apalachicola River, saw a pair of Bald Eagles while enjoying the view, as boats left and entered the river. Watched the sunrise each morning from the balcony. The suite was well appointed, everything from the welcome basket of goodies and toiletries to the I-Phone docking station for music. The Market downstairs has it all. Book you next stay in Apalachicola at the Consolate Suites and you will be a Hero. We are already planning our next visit for next year and plan to stay 3 nights!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The draw for us was the fact that it is right on the river and is a completely renovated old building. It was at one time the French Consulate (hence the name) and we are of French extraction. When we arrived, we were informed that a guest damaged the shower in the suite we rented so we were upgraded to The Consulate Suite. It was gorgeous. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms, really big, fully equipped kitchen, more than we really needed. But there was a very large balcony with a view of the shrimp boats on the river. It was very clean. The only drawback is - no elevator but we were helped with our luggage. Downstairs is Grady's Market, an upscale, lovely little store with a men's shop and a women's shop. There is no food available but there are several restaurants in the area should you not want to cook. (We didn't). Our host left a sweet little welcome basket of coffee, tea, cookies, etc. It was truly a luxury for us to have a full living room where we could watch TV at night and wifi throughout. Lighting could be a little better. This is our go to place whenever we visit Apalachicola again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful. It just depends on how many people are sharing the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We really loved our stay in the Attache suite. The rooms are very nice, roomy, tastefully decorated, and provided with everything we needed. Having a full kitchen allowed us to buy fresh seafood at the shop one block away to cook for dinner. The washer/dryer meant that we could wash and dry out our bathing suites and towels after visits to beach on St.Georges island. Everything is in town is a short stroll away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We are in our third stay at Consulate Suites and have loved each of the three different suites we booked (depending on the number of people, 2-5). They are spacious, well-equipped, and comfortable. The attractive decor and the river view/balconies are bonuses. Consulate Suites is always our first choice of places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our annual trip to Apalachicola. The Consulate Suites Attache room was just awesome and the attention to detail very much appreciated. The rooms were clean, balcony patio with garden view was lovely and indoor space was very comfortable layout with the large living/kitchen area. The suite has lovely architecture and charm. The pull out bed was typical quality so that may be a consideration to some. We just made up the couch without folding the bed out and slept one there. All in all a place we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Central Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed at Consulate Suites at the end of Easter weekend for a small 3-day getaway. We booked the reservation on the website for the property. Upon arrival I found the keys in the drop location as described (no desk after 5 PM) and was met by a manager's representative to make sure I was able to get in the building without problem. Quick note - all suites are on the second floor of the building, if you have problems negotiating stairs this property is not for you as there is no elevator.

We booked the Attache Suite, it was just under 1,000 square feet with a one bedroom king bed layout. Full kitchen with a breakfast bar, kitchen has all GE appliances (refrigerator, electric stove, microwave, dishwasher) and a complete assortment of dishware and kitchen utensils. The ceilings are all 11 feet, exterior wall is the original brick of the building which was wonderfully preserved. Wood flooring all through the suite. The living area had a dining table and several pieces of furniture including a pull-out sofa bed for extra guests. The TV was a CRT-style WEGA in a swing-door entertainment center. Bedroom has a nice four-post metal framed King bed, dresser, chair, and a spacious closet with a rollaway bed stored inside for extra people. There was a small flat-screen TV in the bedroom for late-night viewing. Bathroom was nice as well with a pedestal sink, tub shower, and high-quality bathroom amenties. Towels were clean and soft. A laundry room adjacent to the bathroom held a apartment-sized washer/drier stack combo. The air conditioning functioned exceptionally well, the suite cooled down fast and maintained acceptable temperature at all times during our stay. This property has been written about in numerous magazines as well as being on the annual Parade of Homes in the area.

There were many positives to this stay as well as some negatives. It is very possible to cook full meals in the kitchen as equipped, there is plenty of dishware to serve at least four or more people. We purchased steaks and some other food items from the local grocery since we arrived later on Sunday evening and just cooked in the kitchen in lieu of hunting down a late-open restaurant. The suite has a private balcony overlooking the rear gardens, very scenic and quiet, two chairs were provided. As far as the less than positive, there were a few items that detracted from the overall experience. First, there was no door viewer for guest protection on any of the four main entry doors that I saw, if someone knocked you had no way of looking out to see who wanted to come into your room. The main hallway on the second floor is locked at both ends as well as a locked ground floor entry door in front, but you never know... There were a few wear & tear items in the suite that could have used attention such as loose/stripped screws on the bathroom GFI, some damage on the window slats of the outside balcony door, some paint wear, etc... The major appliances dated from the 1998 building renovation, and it may be time for a little updating of the suite as evidenced by the older living room TV and the minor wear items. The water pressure was low but useable, plenty of hot water after a slight warm-up time. Also, there was WiFi installed, however I could not get a working connection during my stay. I attempted to contact the managers a few different times via telephone to get assistance with the WiFi and to ask a question about parking, I never received a call back. Also I didn't find the adjoining office open at all during my visit. Also note - the walls are very thin between suites. A family staying in the Port Captain Suite nextdoor had a rather loud domestic disturbance the second night I was there, and every word they both spoke and yelled was heard clearly in the Attache Suite bedroom. We came within seconds of calling 911. Not good. The back stairs were easier for us to negotiate than the front stairs, just a small consideration if you are taking up heavy luggage.

So, in summary, this is a very nice property and it was a good stay for us with a few minor hiccups. Within the aforementioned limitations I would recommend and/or stay here again without hesitation. Definitely one of the nicest properties in the Apalachicola proper!!

Room Tip: Varies depending on your need for space. I booked the least costly suite with a King bed, there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Consulate Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Consulate Suites

Address: 76 Water Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 beautiful suites located on the Apalachicola River. Each suite offers full kitchen, laundry room, flat screen TV's, Blu-Ray player, personal wifi, and balconies with great views. Many restaurants are within walking distance of the Consulate. During your stay we do not offer daily housekeeping but if you find you need something or have any maintenance concerns you may contact us bye phone or the Grady Market is open from 10:00 to 5:30; someone there can contact the appropriate person to take care of your request or concerns. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Consulate Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Consulate Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.