We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apalachicola Maritime Museum

Apalachicola Maritime Museum
103 Water Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320
850-653-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Loved all the pictures and descriptions detailing the history. Very friendly personnel. Deck in back offered a great view of the river.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    14
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
1 review
“Small Town, Big History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Looking at this little place, you can't expect much. Still under construction, the Apalach Maritime Museum is just that....small and quaint filled with rich knowledge. The walls show off pictures of the "once was" seafares along with interesting facts about the who, what, when, and where of these beautiful vessles. They also have artifacts ranging from knotted ropes to tongs for oystering to sponges to hoisting mechanisms, etc. It may be small, but the knowledge you gain about the different times, travles, and ways of life are eye opening. With all the technology today little places like this are needed to remember where we came from and where we are going. =) If you are curious about how this area ran the waters to survive, this is the place to go. Let's not forget about the trips you can take to see the barrier islands, Apalach River, and beautiful sunsets. It's not much, but then again it's so much more than I thought....I'll be returning soon to see what's been added.....and maybe rent a canoe and do some exploring of the area myself!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Saint Vincet Island Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The museum was really cool but, the boat tour to SVI was da bomb! Captain Wes who is also a certified green guide is a skilled captain and obviously cares deeply for the environment and lives the leave no trace principles of outdoor ethics. He was quick to point out artifacts, rare plants and identify birds from a great distance. He was insistent we leave artifacts and plants as they were. Just pottery shards but, some had patterns that could still be seen. The Island was only accesible by boat so it was a real treat to see some real florida.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I thoroughly enjoy attending lectures hosted by the museum. They are always interesting and informative and are given by knowledgeable and enthusiastic speakers. They are followed by a delicious and free low country boil that is frequently served on the dock with a beautiful view of the river. I meet nice people and interesting people. Great way to spend an evening!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Museum Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was a great experiance for Myself and my Family. The kids had a blast with all of the wildlife that we saw during our Eco Tour. The photos and info in the Museum were wonderful and informational. Maybe next year we will have time to do one of the other Tours that were availible.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apalachicola Maritime Museum also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Apalachicola Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apalachicola Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.