We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apalachicola River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apalachicola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apalachicola River Inn
Save
You added Apalachicola River Inn to your Saves list
123 Water Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 5 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Panama City Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are looking for a five star hotel with tons of amenities...this isn't for you. If you are looking for quaint, comfortable and friendly...this is the place! We stayed in the River Cottage which is a suite with two bedrooms, kitchen and living room. We partied til the wee hours on the spacious deck overlooking the beautiful Apalachicola River. When the staff heard we were there for my wedding, they provided us with a (very decent!!) bottle of champagne. Breakfast, which is included in the room rate was just fantastic! Our stay just couldn't have been better!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    85
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
25
153
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, AL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

As a native Floridian, this place brings back sweet childhood memories of our "camp" on the Gulf. Get a second floor room for a screened private porch overlooking the river. What a view at sunset! The breakfast at Caroline's (included) is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oystr, Owner at Apalachicola River Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your kind review. We have taken advantage of Tripadvisor to increase our business exposure. Please note special offers and announcements under The Apalachicola River Inn to know that we offer a $20.00 discount a complimentary cooked to order breakfast welcome cocktails daily and our FALL Special announcement an additional 10% discount for AAA AARP and Military. Come see us on the river. Caroline and Larry Maddren owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Overall not a bad place. Room was very clean, breakfast was the best both days we stayed, it comes with the stay. We stayed upstairs and it was miserable trying to sit on the balcony, it was way to hot. The Hotel is in need of an overhaul no doubt about it. For the price we won't stay again, we paid $139+ with the Trip Advisor discount, should be more like $89. The band plays till midnight Saturdays, don't plan on sleeping if your upstairs until after that. One more thing, to the lady that is there in the morning time, you need to smoke out back instead of hanging out the front door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I both loved the serene view from the balcony. We had a second floor room which was nice and private (if you are on the first floor you don't have a private area but are on the dock) Although we stayed here only because our place on St. George Island overbooked it was nice but very old, and more of a touristy type place than somewhere I would intentionally stay. Even though the view was wonderful for the condition of the room it was way over priced. With the room we got a free drink at the bar above carolines and breakfast the next morning. We forgo the free drink as they had Karaoke that night but the breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed right after Debby hurricane in July, our room's carpet was wet and musty, They used the ac and opened doors to dry out. The animal life from the balcony and restaurant views are outstanding. The breakfast was tip notch! Wish there was no smoking on the grounds overall not just in some places as people were smoking outside front door etc. Seems to be a common problem all over Florida though. Wonderful town, walked everwhere. Near beautidul beaches of St george IS.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in The River Cottage and couldn't have been more pleased. With the two master bedrooms, large living room, full kitchen, separate glass enclosed jacuzzi room and spacious private deck, all overlooking the river, we didn't have that "we're staying in a hotel feeling." It was our own little piece of heaven. We loved the special touches in the bathroom with the towels and washcloths rolled and tied with purple grosgrain ribbons, and the great supply of Paya Organic toiletries. The large bathroom also housed a washer and dryer, but since we were celebrating our 40th, we didn't take time to use them.
The town is also charming with the most friendly people. We are avid picture takers, and found many interesting old building and fishing boats to photograph. We rose early the three mornings we were there to watch the sunrise, but because of rain clouds only the first morning produced a spectacular show. There was still something magical about starting the morning on the river as the sun lightened the sky and the oyster boats went out for their daily catch. The seagulls also provided unendless entertainment. Can we say, Paradise?
The breakfasts at Caroline's were awesome. I so loved the lemon pancakes with the raspberry butter that I had them all three mornings. My husband enjoyed the seafood breakfasts, and we both agreed they were some of the best meals we have ever had.
This has become our new favorite place and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The River Cottage is very spacious and could easily be shared by two couples. It is also very priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Many places claim to be what Apalachicola actually is: a soothing dunk back in time. And this hotel is where to lay your head when you're there. It's perfectly situated right on the river, with a view that is a natural meditation to look at: birds, grasses, water, puttering fishing boats. You won't want to leave a waterfront seat, and you won't have to here. From drinks at the Spoonbill bar, to dinner at Boss Oyster (the fried seafood is THE fried seafood to try, utterly perfect, especially the sweet, oceanic-tasting local scallops), to breakfast at Caroline's, you're never more than a few steps from the beauty. The room we stayed in, the jacuzzi suite, felt like someone's homey getaway. Little touches, like nice bathroom fixtures, carefully wrapped towels, and nice sheets showed great hospitality, but it had the comfort of a well-loved retreat. You can almost feel the relaxation past guests left behind, lingering in the chairs. Breakfast, included in the price, is the biggest surprise. It is 100% homemade and better than a fancy five star resort's. Fresh squeezed orange juice, homemade (warm) biscuits, amazing maple French toast, and buttery super-fresh shrimp with grits. Our family loved our time here and would go back in a heartbeat. Apalachicola doesn't pretend anything. It's really what it is.

Room Tip: We liked the jacuzzi suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apalachicola River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apalachicola River Inn

Address: 123 Water Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Apalachicola River Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apalachicola River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.