We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Town Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AJ's Neighborhood Bar & Grill

AJ's Neighborhood Bar & Grill
120 Martin Luther King Jr Ave, Apalachicola, FL 32320-2135
+1 850-653-2571
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 26 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Description: Soul Food. Sea Food. Good Food. Off the beaten path. No frills. Nothing fancy. Just good food! Family recipes and the best fried chicken ever!
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Home Town Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Forego the touristy places downtown in the historic area and head for A.J.'s. This is the kind of soul seafood I had many years ago growing up in Mobile, Alabama. The place is neighborhood rather than obvious and they were doing a busy takeout business while we dined on crab cakes and fried chicken, both yummy. Our young waitress was so personable and attractive, and she won my heart by quickly asking when she learned our dog was with us "Would she like some water?"
We'll shop downtown, especially at Bickel Photography, but dine at A.J.'s.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Better Than Mom's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I are in Apalachicola for the Florida Seafood Festival. We have been here a week and have just about eaten every bit of seafood that we could find ...... and, it was all good. But today, we decided to visit AJ's Neighborhood Bar & Grill for some down home cooking.

This restaurant is not located in the downtown area for the tourists. As its name implies, it can be found in a neighborhood just northwest of the city center. The menu is straight forward and has many southern home favorites like fried chicken, mullet, crab cakes and hamburger steak.

My wife and I both had the hamburger steak with mashed potatoes, green beans and fried okra. The dessert was homemade peach cobbler. This was truly a great meal and we will be back. Oh yes, it was even better than Mom's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A delicious find for a great birthday celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

During a family weekend at St. George Island, near Apalachicola, we sought a restaurant where we could enjoy a nice dinner for my Mom's birthday. We used Trip Advisor and found AJ's Neighborhood Bar & Grill, and were VERY pleased with our selection! We had a party of six adults, and each chose a different seafood selection on the extensive menu. Everyone was delighted, and I especially loved my grilled crab cake basket. The hushpuppies were amazing - they really reminded me of the ones my Dad used to make! The price of our dinner was quite reasonable, the service was excellent, and I would highly recommend AJ's!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooking & Best Fresh Seafood Soul Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place adds something extra special to their food and I believe it is Love. Clean and Great Food, run by a husband and wife team that put their heart and soul into it. I loved the Bar selections and the great food and deserts. Save room for desert.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Tasty local lunch....use your GPS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Found this place on the chamber of commerce website. Glad we stopped in for lunch while on vacation. Southern seafood with a soul food flair - or the other way around. Locally caught food done right. I hear the Sunday buffet is really good and very busy. Worth a try, especially if you have been downtown for a couple of meals and want to venture out and see where the locals eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ's Neighborhood Bar & Grill also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to AJ's Neighborhood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AJ's Neighborhood Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.