We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Up the Creek Raw Bar

Up the Creek Raw Bar
313 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
850-653-2525
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Cuisines: American, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A happy surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Doesn't look like much when you drive up. There are fairly steep stairs up to the restaurant, but if you walk to the back there is an elevator. Very casual inside. Specials are on a large blackboard plus there is a menu. You go to the couner to order your drinks and food and they give you a number to set on table. Once the food arrives you go to the salad bar to get condiments, very much a do-it-yourself place. But the food is outstanding. Seating on the covered porch is over the river, lots of activity to watch. There is an open deck off the porch that is fun, but it is hard to get seats there. We took all our guests there and they loved it, as we do.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    209
    59
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We're converts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

For years we faithfully frequented another oyster bar in Apalach, but this year we've become fans of Up the Creek. The menu is varied and fresh (try the conch fritters and fried green tomatoes!), the restaurant is clean and airy, and the staff is fantastic! Smiling, laughing, always chatty and informed about the menu and events around town. Oysters were fresh and yummy, good bar selections, small but fresh salad bar.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected From Past Reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We tried Up The Creek our second day of our stay on St.George Island. Nice roomy place and maybe some other menu items are ok. We had an oyster appetizer, ok but not very plump oysters. I had the conch patties and wife had crab cakes. The conch was ok, however the crab cakes were soggy, and so overly seasoned you could not taste, let alone SEE any crab in them. We each had a small glass of wine and also tired the key lime pie. The pie was pretty good, but not as good as home made and we have eaten Key lime pie in Florida for some 25 years.
All in all, we would not return given the prices and the so-so food quality. The Owl, Tamara's, and the Seafood Grill are better for price, quality and quantity. Lynn's Quality Oysters/Sea Food Market and restaurant in Eastpoint is the best we found if you just want a couple beers and no frills, but the BEST oysters , steamed-butter basted shrimp, and fresh sea food to take home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great American food, excellent seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hands down best meal in town. The crab cakes are all crab and are seasoned perfectly. The conch patties are fantastic the mango slaw really compliments the conch. The pork egg rolls have a great curry flavor and are huge. The wings were the best wings I've had in a while. They were naked and both the buffalo and tupelo sauce were extremely good. This restaurant would do well anywhere including New Orleans where we are from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The food was fabulous! Every part was very yummy. The drinks were strong and tasty, the oyster were great and the main course was mouth watering. Loved all of it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up the Creek Raw Bar also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Up the Creek Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up the Creek Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.