We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Oysters and Shrimp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Up the Creek Raw Bar

Up the Creek Raw Bar
313 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
850-653-2525
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Cuisines: American, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Oysters and Shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I got a really good feeling about this place when we unwittingly walked in 4 minutes before the kitchen closed. (Apparently, we'd crossed a time zone somewhere and lost an hour.) However, the staff was totally copacetic about taking a large order at the last minute, and the service remained excellent thru-out our meal. The raw oysters were fat and salty, fried shrimp were piping hot, tasty, and grease-free. The crab cakes were sort of pasty, unfortunately, no big chunks of crab to be found. And be forewarned, they don't fry oysters...even though they're swimming in them and have no problem frying shrimp. What's up with that?? Atmosphere's pretty ho-hum unless you sit outside. But great staff and tasty food go a long way toward overcoming any deficiencies, so, two thumbs up, and we'll be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    209
    58
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Alligator...doesn't taste like chicken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was the second time we had visited Up a Creek Raw Bar; we hadn’t been there in a few years. We enjoy Apalachicola and often like to venture off the main touristy path. Located right along side the waterfront it offers a great view. The restaurant is a non-traditional sit down place in that you grab a table look over the menu, and then go up to the counter to place your order.

We stopped in for lunch on a cold November afternoon. Looking over the menu both my son and I decided to give the alligator burger a shot. I ordered mine with a cup of the crab bisque on the side. The bisque was wonderful! It was a rich, hearty, and flavorful warm-me-up for a cold November day.

As for the alligator burger, well I was sure what to expect. I have to say that it was a bit different. As for the old proverbial cliché “it tastes like chicken” did not hold true. The burger patty have a strong flavor of an “Old Bay” seasoning [which I don’t really care for], and seemed to lack an adequate binder in that the patty was crumbling as I ate it. The meat had and unusual texture…almost grainy. For the cost of it [$15.99] I did my best to eat as much as it as I could. My son on the other hand wasn’t able to even finish half of his. The unfortunate risk of trying something new and unusual, but none-the-less I can check off alligator on the food bucket list.

So, with that I won’t give the establishment a bad score because we have had a good experience in the past and the other items on the menu are good. I do have to say that it is a bit pricey for a place that you have to go up and place your order at the counter.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Salty Oysters !! & Killer Crab Cakes !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Read about and were awful glad we stopped in for dinner !! I'd been jonsin' for oysters for a long time and they fulfilled just what I wanted !! Added to that was a mess of steammed clams and she got the crab cakes of America. The horseradish/cocktail sauce/remoulade sauce-salad bar, let us sauce up our way and dinner was great !!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The creek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We love Up The Creek! You can't beat the view. Good beer selection. Do not leave without trying their bisque. Oysters any way you order them are great. I really like them baked with jalapeño, bacon & cheese. Great place for happy hour with friends!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Honestly The Best Raw Oysters I Have Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Go here you will not be disappointed. The raw oysters were the best I have ever had. The perfect mix of salty and juicy. Enjoy with one of their four types of hot sauces. Lots of local microbrews available to wash down those raw ones. Plenty of other styles of oysters available as well and they had great soups and other choices. The only thing that is slightly confusing is the ordering/paying system. But that adds to the character of the place. Wish this place was closer to home so I could go more often. Boy were those oysters good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up the Creek Raw Bar also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Up the Creek Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up the Creek Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.