We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good drinks, dog friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Up the Creek Raw Bar

Up the Creek Raw Bar
313 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
850-653-2525
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Apalachicola
Cuisines: American, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good food, good drinks, dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The title says it all for me. But I'll go on. I was attacted by the notation in the guidebook that Up the Creek was pet-friendly. Our little Boston Terrier doesn't go everywhere with us, but when she does, I'm looking for a little pet tolerance. We chose a corner picnic table facing the bay. There was enough activity on a Sunday afternoon in October to keep us entertained. We sat from 3 until 4:30. Started with beer and wine and got hungry. The draft beer selection is great - quite a number of microbrews. Anytime I can find Sweetwater 420 on tap, I'm going to get comfortable. When I found steamed clams on the menu, I was in heaven. My wife and I split a 1/4 bag (25) of littlenecks steamed in butter/broth/white wine & herbs, accompanied by fresh bread . They were outstanding. We could have eaten the whole bag. Service was friendly, as was the clientele. It was a nice family atmosphere. We will be back to Apalachicola to do the historical walking tour and I plan to stop here for drinks and a meal again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    209
    59
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great seafood and a great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stopped here on our way through town and the food was incredible. We had the Mediterranean Oysters made with Caper Tapenade. The Grilled Shrimp were huge and cook to perfection. And can't forget the Gumbo, so good. Then we ate facing the Apalachicola Bay, beautiful. You order at the counter and they bring your food to you, so kind of a neat place too. This is a must stop when in Apalachicola.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort walton Beach, FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at Up the Creek. The food was great (including the oysters) and the service even better. We'll definitely be back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD BUT ......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The food in this restaurant was delicious, however, ordering at the counter was a nightmare and it was like a "bun fight" at the salad bar.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Only had chips and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went on a recommendation from our daughter to this place a little ways from downtown Appalach. It's upstairs with a view of boats and river. Staff was super helpful and friendly. We only ordered their chips and beer since it was snack time, but we truly enjoyed it. Chips were fantastic and beer was draft and cold. We will definitely return on our next trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up the Creek Raw Bar also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Up the Creek Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up the Creek Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.