We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go eat here if you are in Apalachicola” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Up the Creek Raw Bar

Up the Creek Raw Bar
313 Water St, Apalachicola, FL 32320-1427
850-653-2525
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 restaurants in Apalachicola
Cuisines: American, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go eat here if you are in Apalachicola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went here after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

I ordered the raw oysters and the egg rolls. My wife had the Parmesan oysters. I washed it down with their Up the Creek draught beer. Everything we ate tasted excellent.

Service was good. Although you order your food at the counter, the wait staff checks on you frequently to see if you need anything else.

Especially good was sitting on the back porch and watching the waterfront activity while we ate.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    314
    174
    44
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alabama, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Delicious food and fast service. Great view. The grilled shrimp were some of the best I've ever had. We also loved the conch cakes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ky.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I almost passed this up (and it would have been a big mistake!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I truly almost passed this place up and i'm so glad I gave it a second thought! The Food if DELICIOUS and it was no secret that night because they were very busy (and it was really late for dinner). You order at a counter, then find your seat and wait, so that can be a little confusing at first but when they bring your order.... all that is forgotten as you dig into excellent seafood, prepared expertly. Go and enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great views and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Here, it's all about the seafood. apalachicola oysters au naturel, with an assortment of hot sauces...nice crab cakes, and fantastic peel and eat shrimp. We tried the fried green beans appetizer. They were only okay, and would have been much better flash fried without a batter coating, which left them heavy, and difficult to identify the green bean within. You don't come here for the wine, however there is a good choice of beer on the menu. The view, overlooking the estuary, is spectacular. It is a very casual place - - you come in, place your order, fill up at the salad bar, and go to your table to await your food. Service is very friendly, and wheelchair users take note - - there is an elevator to take you up to dining level. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Is Emeril showing this in his eating places in Florida?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wonderful place and Florida has some good places to eat. Many of us never have opportunity of really fresh seafood so this is one of the best places to seek out in Apalachicola.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up the Creek Raw Bar also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Up the Creek Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up the Creek Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.