We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coombs House Inn to your Saves list
Coombs House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   80 Sixth Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
“Nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for a friend's wedding, nice ladies running the house and check-in process. My room was not immediately ready at my check-in time due to a miscommunication but I took another room for one night to make it easier for everyone and the staff gave me a bottle of wine.

Also, the breakfast was great, the beds were comfortable and Kate Upton once stayed here! I would recommend this place to other visitors of Apalachicola.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    189
    64
    31
    18
See reviews for
60
558
26
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
farnham common
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A delightful southern house expertly managed by Donna who gave us a warm and hospitable welcome. The house is beautifully furnished and our Bedroom (Sandpiper) was a real treat in Victorian decor; a step is provided to climb into the large Queen bed. Everything is provided and if you’re going to visit Apalachicola then the Coombs House Inn is a must. Breakfast was excellent. Wifi did not connect in our room but was fine in the ante room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but after spending 3 nights at the Coombs House, I felt I needed to.
From the booking (by phone) to the heartfelt adieus, the staff were remarkably friendly, helpful and professional. They were well informed of the area and shared about local eateries, attractions and folklore. They made the trip vastly more enjoyable.
As for the Inn, well it was elegant, comfortable, homey, charming and mysterious. The tales of Mr. Coombs' ghost visiting his old room (the one we stayed in) added to the charm and mystificaton of the Inn.
Now to the food! Breakfast, served every morning, was freshly prepared and side dishes were abundantly available. The food was excellent.
Sightseeing in Apalachicola is limited due to the size of the town, but it has galleries, antique shops and gift shops aplenty and quaint working waterfront. Oysters are its hallmark and they are the best I have ever had. Apalachicola is home to one of the best Nautical Treasures I have come across, it is The Tin Shed, and is directly across form the river. The surrounding area is lush with tidal preserves and watersports. Fishing and kayaking seeming to be the most popular. Also the beaches in surrounding towns are superb.
All in all, we would highly recommend a visit to the area and The Coombs House Inn is a must. We will return in the spring for sure.

Room Tip: Every Room is unique! They are viewable on the Coombs House Inn website
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Were there for one night as Seafood Festival goers had all the rooms booked. Loved room "Heaven 11". Beautifully decorated and a fancy bath. Nice staff and good breakfast. Hope to come back some time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reliance, Tenn.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was delighted with my stay in the Magnolia Room. It was like a trip back in time to stay in this wonderfully preserved home with all the old wood and antique furnishings. The innkeeper and staff were friendly and helpful and made me feel special. Breakfast in the dining room was a culinary delight. The bed was ultra comfortable and I hated to leave. Hoping that I will get to return someday. Apalachicola is a perfect setting for this charming inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in the Coombs Suite, and it was beautiful! Much like the rest of the Inn.
Pros- 1. Service is excellent. Very friendly, courteous and helpful. 2. Great location- you can walk downtown. 3. They honor our troops and offer 10% military discount. 4. Clean and well maintained rooms and bathrooms
Cons- 1. Creaky, old house. Unfortunately we had a very (very) noisy couple staying in the room directly above us. For some odd reason, they kept pacing back and forth late into the night and their footsteps would echo in our room. We could barely sleep the whole night. When we were checking out the following morning, there was another couple that was complaining about the same guests. Bottom line, if you have noisy neighbours, there's no escaping it. The house is old and you can tell.
But overall, two thumbs up.

Room Tip: It might be wiser to pick rooms on the top most floor- it would significantly reduce the risk of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We've been to many inns / B&B's over the years and the Coombs House is by far one of the best. Our room (The Magnolia) was beautifully appointed, the wine & cheese on a Friday evening was a lovely surprise, the breakfast was savory, and everyone who took care of us went the extra mile to ensure our comfort. The inn itself is conveniently located to town and is truly a gem, elegantly restored. Can't recommend it enough. Will gladly return there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Address: 80 Sixth Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Expedia so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombs House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.