We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn in a charming town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coombs House Inn to your Saves list
Coombs House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   80 Sixth Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Bonita Springs, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming inn in a charming town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our third visit. We enjoyed sitting out on the upstairs porch for a glass of wine before heading out for dinner. A lovely old restored home and yummy breakfast. Appalach is cute town with great oyster eating opportunities. Also a fun place to walk or ride bikes.

Room Tip: skip the room right across from the front desk..a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    172
    57
    26
    12
See reviews for
55
509
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived late for our stay but were left good directions of how to find our room. The accommodations were large except for the commode room which was too tiny for my husband to use. The room had a musty smell so I bought some air freshener. Not surprising because it is an old building. We were not in the main house but the Veranda suites behind. Everything was very clean and the towels were soft and had a nice scent. Unfortunately our room faced a main road and we could hear traffic noise late into the night. No getting away from that, but some weather stripping around the door might help. There was no way to turn out the porch light from the room so that light beamed into the room. The bed was comfortable,the staff was friendly and the breakfast substantial. Short walk to most things in town. Check out tap room at The Owl for great food and beverage.

Room Tip: Back side of veranda suites or perhaps main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I love Apalachicola. We decided to stay at The Coombs Inn before we went to the beach for a week. It was precious. The staff was wonderful and the room was a lovely place to stay for the evening. It really couldn't have been nicer. We will probably make it a habit to stay there each year before heading down to St. George Island. Thanks again, Coombs Inn

Room Tip: We stayed in the Biltmore Suite and it was like our own little house. Very Cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very nice team at Coombs, and a very nice house and neighborhood. Walking distance from all the restaurants and stores in Apalachicola. We enjoyed the complimentary beach chairs, towels, and umbrella during our stay, as well as the afternoon cookies, weekend wine and cheese, and the breakfasts. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were there for a wedding and really enjoyed staying at the Coombs House Inn. It was clean and comfortable and fun. We used the bikes to get some exercise and enjoyed exploring the local history. The staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in the Cloisters which is it's own separate house containing a galley style kitchen with a nice sized refrigerator and four burner electric stove, a small living room with tv and table and chairs and desk, bedroom which contained the most comfortable king size bed with down feather pillows and bathroom which had a deep jacuzzi tub and shower. There was a small porch with chairs which we enjoyed with our morning cup of coffee. Beautiful linens on bed and curtains. Very detailed oriented in way or decoration, from the beautiful tiffany style lamps to the shower curtain pattern. We loved this place. The town is a cute small town with some good restaurants within easy walking distance. They offered breakfast form 8am-10am but we did not participate as we like to workout in the morning. There is a gym approx. 2 blocks away which allowed us to workout for $15 for a couple. The innkeeper, Estella, was very friendly and made sure that we were very comfortable and everything was to our liking. Would HIGHLY recommend.

Room Tip: Cloisters is worth the extra money if you want privacy away from the other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived Sept. 7th for or 24th wedding anniversary. Estella was so helpful and the Inn was beautiful and clean. The atmosphere was relaxing and everything was top notch. We stayed in the Magnolia room and the bed linens were quality and the bed itself was very comfortable. Breakfast was delishious. Worth the drive. I would loved to have stayed much longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Address: 80 Sixth Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombs House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.