We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the All Time Best Bed & Breakfasts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coombs House Inn to your Saves list
Coombs House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   80 Sixth Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the All Time Best Bed & Breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

What a great place with exceptional staff and managers. Our room was clean and the food was wonderful. It's walking distance to the Apalachicola downtown area and it's a short drive to St. George Island. The Coombs House Inn is nestled in one of the last true gems of the Florida Panhandle. There is nothing better than real places with real people, a real treat. If you love old homes with first rate service and a twist of the seaside village life, look no further and treat yourself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    197
    70
    35
    19
See reviews for
70
584
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very romantic and beautifully appointed room. The Biltmore was even more beautiful than its pictures! It was private and quite spacious. We were delighted with the location and the inn keepers recommendations. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I found Coombs House by accident and we were thrilled with this discovery. The property is beautiful, the Inn Keepers delightful and helpful, the rooms beautifully furnished with wonderful attention to detail. Apalachacola is a treasure filled with great food, interesting shopping, friendly, very helpful people and a beautiful sea coast.

Room Tip: The Coombs website is outstanding and provides all of the information that you need to select a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great Inn with some of the best antique furnishings you will find. Gracious and informative hosts. Do not miss their breakfast! Convenient to everything. Visit St. George Island (SGI) for a tour of the CPe St. George Lighthouse and a wonderful and long white sand beach. be sure to check out "The Hut" on SGI for their great devised crabs. Close to the Coombs are a number of restaurants with great menus and fresh local seafood. The Owl Cafe has outstanding Black Grouper and shrimp. Boss Oyster has 28 varieties of oysters and AJ's Neighborhood Grill and Bar has a wonderful variety of seafood. Be us to go throughout the Maritime Museum to learn about harvesting oysters, shrimping, and harvesting sponges! Wonderful Time!!
Mike and Alonda, Bella Vista, AR

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graceville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife & I visit Apalachicola, Florida 2-3 times per year and have lodged in the same place each time over the years. However, in late September 2012 we decided to "try" Coombs House Inn. It was love at first site! I have forgotten the name of the September room we stayed in but this past week (March 26-29) we chose "11 Heaven", and heavenly it was. I will spare you the details but It couldn't have been better. The rooms are so beautiful and romantic. the food is spectacular, and the service superb. Special cudos to "Ann", a young, yet very mature, intelligent, bright, cheerful, beautiful soul who is indeed gifted with a servant's heart.

Room Tip: Toss the dice. You can't lose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Coombs house is a lovely old mansion converted into a B&B well situated close to everything in the tiny town. There are actually two homes used. We stayed in the auxiliary home in room 19. It was a small,clean,antique furnished room with an en suite bath. We were very comfortable . In the morning we walked the block to the main house for breakfast. They served rolls,cereal, delicious coffee and the like. We had the hot breakfast which was a baked omelette with a choice of vegetable or ham and cheese. It was very tasty. All in all, it was a comfortable stay. We will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a fabulous B&B. They had everything you would need, free bikes, free fresh baked cookies, wine, great coffee, gourmet breakfast, etc. The homes are within walking distance of the main street where all the shopping, museums, fishing and restaurants are.

Room Tip: We stayed in 11 Heaven room. Wow, i highly recommend. it had a biday(sp?) jacuzzi tub, hugh bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
18.3 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Address: 80 Sixth Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombs House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.