We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint historic B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coombs House Inn to your Saves list
Coombs House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   80 Sixth Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
london
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A quaint historic B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were passing through Apalachicola and just happened upon this B&B. We were given a warm welcome, The house dates back to the middle 1800 hundreds, and is full of antiquities.It is very dated in a nice kind of way. We stayed in the Wilson room on the ground floor, very small shower room but adequate,breakfast good.Staff were helpful, Staying here made a welcome change from normal hotels or motels, we would stay again if we were passing through again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    172
    57
    26
    12
See reviews for
55
509
22
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seagrove Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Coombs Inn is a wonderful place for a relaxing week-end. The place was immaculately keep, bed was comfortable, very quiet, delicious breakfast and all within walking distance of downtown and riverfront.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed being in the main house but the other buildings may be equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We wanted a quiet and comfortable weekend away from home and the Coombs Inn met our needs. We enjoyed drinking champagne while sitting in rocking chairs on the front porch. The staff at the inn was l helpful and made us feel welcomed, and the wine reception that they provided was a nice start to our evening as well. We found the inn to be in a great location because it was a short walk to the town center and several great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Recommended by a friend. Typical b&b in decor & feel. Good choice if you are in the area. Particularly liked Lana (sp?) the innkeeper. We also enjoyed the upstairs porch. $7 for serve yourself wine seemed a bit cheap for this caliber of place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a couple days here before his deployment to Afghanistan. We absolutely loved it!! We stayed in the Biltmore suite. It was beautifully decorated, the bed very comfortable, and the jacuzzi tub a perfect touch!! The breakfast of gourmet apple-stuffed french toast complemented by bacon was fantastic. They also offered a variety of freshly baked goods, fresh fruit, and juices.
The staff was fantastic, helpful and attentive without being overbearing.
We have already planned a return stay when he returns from deployment!!

Room Tip: The rooms are small but exquisite. We stayed in a suite that was perfect for two people. Only downf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed two nights and throughly enjoyed our time at the Coombs House Inn.
Laini was so attentive to our needs. She helped us with suggestions as to where to shop, eat, visit, and answered all questions.
The food was deliciious and a special breakfast was prepared for our husbands since they was scheduled to go on a fishing trip.
We were treated to a romance package since both my husband and I have birthdays in October.

Room Tip: We were in the Magnolia room.......Lights on in the foyer all night made room to light...........The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoombsHouseInn1905, Manager at Coombs House Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Bed was uncomfortable, and hostess was a little short with the guests. There was a wedding the next day and the hostess showed her feelings, which the guests should not see, they are paying clients too! Breafast was very small portions for the money. Most B&B offer snacks from lunch time to bedtime, but now here. Hostess did not want to be bothered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoombsHouseInn1905, Manager at Coombs House Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued guest, We greatly apologize you thought your stay with us was less than perfect. You mentioned that your bed was uncomfortable, I wish you had told us while you were staying with us. We have new pillowtop mattresses with down pillow toppers We could of removed these if the mattress was not firm enough. Most of our guests relish the luxurious feel but it is hard to please everyone, however we do try.
The room you stayed in is actually one of my favorites, with it's antique 4 poster bed, spacious victorian wardrobe (to hide your in-room amenities such as in-room Starbucks coffee) and lovely limoge and nipon china accents. The antique fireplace is one of the 9 origional fireplaces from when the home was first built in 1905. We do offer fresh Starbucks coffee and a wide array of teas along with fresh baked cookies each day for our guests enjoyment from 3-5pm and on both Friday and Saturday evenings we have a wine and cheese social hour for our guests from 6 to 7pm. This last weekend we had a melody of olives, a wheel of brie topped with strawberry rosettes and an array of mixed cheeses and several different types of crackers to compliment our white and red wines. Our breakfast is served on our antique sideboard each morning from 8 to 10am. We offer fresh fruit, yogert, 7 different types of dried cereal with fresh bananas for slicing and fresh milk. We also offer 4 different types of oatmeal and grits, plus 10 different types of teas, starbucks coffee, hot chocolate, fresh cream 4 different types of fresh baked muffins, 3 different types of bagels, english muffins, toast, butter, cream cheese and 3 different types of jam and honey. We also set out a fresh baked coffee cake. We ask our guests to help themselves and there are no portion restrictions. Also to enhance your breakfast buffet we serve a hot dish from the kitchen, it may be a Stratta, a Fritittia, a quiche or a fruit and cheese stuffed French toast. We always offer seconds when asked and we do speciality cook for our guests who have made previous reservations, those with special dietary needs. We also offer and prepare special picnic baskets and champagne romance packages. We offer the use of our bikes, our beach chairs, beach towels and beach umbrellas. We do try to anticipate your every need but it is hard to please everyone everytime, But we do try.
I wish you had mentioned your displeasure while you were here so that we could of made corrections. We do value our guests and their comments. That's really the only way we know where improvements need to be made.
We hope you will make plans to stay with us again. With warmest regards. The Coombs House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Address: 80 Sixth Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombs House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.